A Year In The Ionian (2015 Retired, Cruising liveaboard)

Getting ready for a year in the Ionian from 20th March 2012. The company I work for has given me a career break. April 2015, Retired, pensioner and hopefully a full time cruising liveaboard.

18 August 2023 | Koukouvitsa Bay.
04 February 2016
16 January 2016
12 September 2015
10 September 2015
10 September 2015
08 August 2015
24 June 2015
31 May 2015
08 May 2015
24 April 2015 | Messolonghi marina
26 March 2015
06 February 2015
08 January 2015 | Me Northampton, Nanjo Messolonghi
01 January 2014
01 January 2014

Finally an update??

01 January 2014 | Duston, Northampton
Cold, wet and windy.
January 1st 2014

Finally an update on my blog?

I would be telling a lie if I said that I was so busy that I couldn't find time to update my blog as originally planned. It's the typical excuse of just not getting round to it. To be honest, today's the first time I've actually logged onto my sailblog site in 6 months. Just to see what I last wrote and what photos I had put on. Thanks to everybody who made comments, and who might have looked at the blog in 2013.
Well where do I begin, my last entry was me getting ready to travel out in May for my first look at Nanjo ashore and to spend a week on board. So that's where I will start I guess.

May 2013 Nanjo visit:
I had been buying plenty of bits of e-bay and down at my local B&Q, as seen in the picture of the box strapped to my Yamaha. Luckily my sister took me to the airport, and brought me back later. I had purchased my easyjet ticket back in December, so it was pretty cheap. Luckily my company allowed to let me have the week off work, after I had explained about the pre bought ticket ( I originally bought it to go back out for good?). I found a very good web site to pre-book a car for the week from Athens airport before I went out. A weeks hire was 80 euros, and included the basic insurance needed and unlimited mileage.
Everything went well for the trip, and I even managed to arrive at Messolonghi just after midnight and get a mythos at the bar. The temperature difference was startling after leaving the UK on a cold May day. I was greeted by thye dogs and a couple of liveaboard friends I had met over the winter. Climbing on Nanjo after being away for so long was a great feeling, I had spent every day and night on her for a year. Tom and Anne had done a great job of stowing bits below for me and making sure she was put in the yard cradle correctly and put to bed, after I had left in March. I'm very glad to say Nanjo was a dry boat below, the plastic bags over the leaking windows had done there job. Climbing back into my skippers cabin and just curling up on the bunk, was superb. I knew that I had come home and would always feel happy and contented on board Nanjo. I slept like the dead, only waking up when the sun was beaming down into the cabin and friends were knocking on my hull. I don't think they were at all surprised to see me the last person to wake up in the marina again, something I constantly did during the winter months.
The week on board went really quickly, I had a long list of jobs I wanted to do. Typically, some got done, new ones were added to the list and even more didn't get done? I partly fitted a 240 volt system to Nanjo, it was never very cleaver having the power lead coming in through the heads porthole and hooked up to an extension lead. Every time we had rain, I expected to see blue sparks flying around the cable. The pictures I've posted are as the system is now, I've now realized that it's not really that safe?? I will fit an rcd where the power first come on board, and I'm going to fit a galvanic isolator as well. Maybe a bit more research on my part before I left would have pointed the correct way to go?
I've posted some pictures of where the fiberglass was coming detached inside, some of the internal fitting bulkheads were no longer attached? It was all found out in my initial survey, but not cause for concern as Nanjo as an internal molding for the fitout. I spent a very dusty, and not pleasant time having a go at cutting out some of the old fiberglass. I had picked up a used dremel on e-bay with a flexi shaft and it was ideal with it's cutting wheel. Having a go at re-glassing, was not as easy as the books had suggested. Purely down to my lack of experience with the stuff, I should have practiced in the UK really. The smell on board after the first day, quickly convinced me that trying to sleep below even with the hatches open, might not be good for my health? Luckily after chatting to Peter and Trix of my problem, they put me in touch with Marco who lives on his yacht in the marina, and is renowned for his glass fibre repairs. A quick chat with him and showing what needed doing, it was more than I expected, after I had removed the two water tanks. He agreed to take on the job, and do it for me before my next trip out in October, he could then work onboard and vent Nanjo when he had the spare time. Result.
Nanjo is ashore in a great location, near the showers and loo block and a power lead just at the back of her. It was also the perfect spot to sit in the cockpit and watch the yachts and motorboats being launched. I was impressed just how quickly and organised the shore team were, and watching every yacht being a hell of a lot larger than Nanjo, meant I need not worry when it's her time to go back in. I've included some pictures of a yacht that was being launched, you can see what a beautiful condition her owner had her in. But tragedy was not far away, he motored out into the harbor and from what i heard had anchored. There was an explosion and very fierce fire onboard soon after. I heard the fire engines around the port area but had seen nothing as I was working down below. The pictures of her in the trailer burnt out, show what condition she was in just a few hours after her launch. The smell of burnt fiberglass hung over the marina all the time I was there. I never found out how the fire started, chatting to several other yachties and the theories were, gas leak or a diesel leak and the fuel catching fire on a hot engine/exhaust? A sobering sight for all of us there.
I had some lovely evenings ashore catching up with friends I had made in the winter, and of course chatting to liveaboards who were still to leave on there summers sailing expeditions.
The week went way to quickly for me and before I knew it, I was back in the hire car and driving back to Athens airport. The flight home went well, and the pilot even made us all laugh when he mentioned we would be landing at 22:30 and only 5 degrees. What a difference after leaving Greece in the constant high 20's. I had flown back with my banjo, it had only been out of it's case three times last year and was easier to sell in the UK than Greece. I'm trying to play the guitar now I'm home, to be honest, it's not going that well?
Comments
Vessel Name: Nanjo
Vessel Make/Model: Dromor Discovery 3000
Hailing Port: Nidri, Greece
Nanjo's Photos - Main
What I've been upto.
7 Photos
Created 18 August 2023
Some gorgeous winter weather and at least one job off my list! The wind indicator finally fitted.
22 Photos
Created 6 February 2016
Amazing maxi yacht, now being sailed back to the USA for restoration.
21 Photos
Created 6 February 2016
The last few weeks after Pete left. I had a great time. Picked up my new bike, and at Messolonghi my new crew!
31 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
My mate Pete onboard for a weeks sailing.
13 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
7 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
Joined by three friends at Kefalonia for a weeks sailing. Taken by the underwater camera built into a face mask.
10 Photos
Created 20 January 2016
My best sunrise so far, leaving Sami early. Keffalonia on my right and Ithaca on my left
4 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
A three day round trip to Benitses in Corfu for a Yamaha outboard engine
6 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
11 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
29 Photos
Created 12 September 2015
25 Photos
Created 28 July 2015
73 Photos
Created 27 July 2015
A great time with Pat and Nick, sailing back to Preveza.
51 Photos
Created 24 June 2015
Pictures taken on the trip from Messolonghi to Corfu
66 Photos
Created 31 May 2015
The last of my big repair jobs done and Nanjos launch.
23 Photos
Created 8 May 2015
Pictures from my first few weeks working on Nanjo.
33 Photos
Created 24 April 2015
7 Photos
Created 26 March 2015
Some pics that represent my year.
37 Photos
Created 8 January 2015
Some pictures of my time in the UK.
33 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
My week on Nanjo with my great mate Bon.
15 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
My weeks visit in May.
34 Photos
Created 1 January 2014
Some pics of my time back in the UK.
10 Photos
Created 17 May 2013
Nanjo safely ashore at last.
2 Photos
Created 13 May 2013
Messolonghi.
5 Photos
Created 10 March 2013
Taking the engine apart. Toms stew!
46 Photos
Created 19 February 2013
Suprise hail attack, and snow on the mountains behind town.
11 Photos
Created 14 February 2013
It's been a gorgeous week for sunshine and getting jobs done.
14 Photos
Created 4 February 2013
W/c 21st Jan. Been a few days of torrential rain.
36 Photos
Created 28 January 2013
Jan12/13th The local drag races, held at Messolonghi airfield. Sat:overcast/drizzle about 300 people. Sunday:Brilliant sunshine,about 2,000. A great weekend
56 Photos
Created 15 January 2013
46 Photos
Created 15 January 2013
Photos taken in and around Messolonghi Marina.
104 Photos
Created 8 January 2013
Bought these at a motorway service station. Brilliant scam, these are being mass produced somewhere, and I should think being sold worldwide, so beware. And don't hand over your money like I did! Anybody want to buy a cheap i Pad and phone?
20 Photos
Created 26 December 2012
Some pictures taken in and around Messolonghi.
38 Photos
Created 26 December 2012
I had a fantastic week with Andrea on board. The weather was not great, but we had hired a car for the week. In the end we covered 900 miles in it. Nafpaxtos in the south to Preveza in the north.
66 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
My last long trip, to Nanjos winter home at Messolonghi marina. I had headwinds all the way, so it was a motor job. But a gorgeous dry crisp day. Nanjos all secure now and will be lifted out in February and kept ashore.
62 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
I tried to head for Messolonghi or Limin Petala, but the head winds and storm coming was to much, so turned and ran for Kastos. Where I thought I would be safe! A big mistake. The damage pictures were taken at Kalamos, where I really should have gone when I had the chance. Which is a much safer harbour. Lesson learned.
29 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
I was hoping to get into the harbour at Astakos, but it was full of fishing boats, and the vacant spots had lines across. So, anchored just past the breakwater. Nice town
21 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
A lovely small anchorage.
13 Photos
Created 18 December 2012
Leg 4, a long trip!
49 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
I decided to walk to Port Leone. A deserted village after the earthquake in the 1950's. A gorgeous day and a 2 hr walk each way.
50 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
I decided to give my "Topclimber" a try out.
9 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
Leg 3
27 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
Leg 2
39 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
First leg of my trip to Messolonghi.
20 Photos
Created 17 December 2012
the sunshines over and the storms have arrived, torrential rain,thunder and lightning and gale force winds!
56 Photos
Created 4 November 2012
Pete Kings week on board Nanjo. A mixture of storms,sunshine,wind?
40 Photos
Created 30 October 2012
A weeks holiday, sailing around the Southern Ionian.
56 Photos
Created 25 September 2012
59 Photos
Created 5 September 2012
87 Photos
Created 3 August 2012
Alone again, it's Bye Bye Corfu and hello Southern Ionian.
25 Photos
Created 7 July 2012
58 Photos
Created 9 June 2012
75 Photos
Created 5 May 2012
Loads still to do????
92 Photos
Created 3 April 2012
Arrived on Tuesday night to a flooded yacht. Not a problem as I have a year to sort it out.
61 Photos
Created 22 March 2012
All the stuff being delivered out to Nanjo. 15 boxs and 213kg!!! Unfortunately I could not wrap the motorbike up and post it?
1 Photo
Created 19 March 2012
I spent 3 weeks on a shake down cruise around the southern Ionian. Actually only 9 days on the move and 6 harbours. Everything went well, except the problem anchor winch!
29 Photos
Created 5 February 2012
Westerly Tempest, 31ft Bilge Keel. Master and Commander. John Shutler
20 Photos
Created 1 February 2012
The last yacht I looked at, and lying in a yard near Nidri, Greece.
24 Photos
Created 25 January 2012