S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

The day after!

I'm not sure why the host site seems to like my posts so much that it sometimes make one into two, but it does. I have been really very careful to not hit the post button twice and still, there they are! I can always delete the extra one but it is an extra step that I would rather not have to bother with.

We have been following the blogs of some of our friends who are in Florida aboard their boats and it certainly looks like the "Sunshine State" is going through another cold spell like they did last year, while we in the north are having some unseasonably warm weather - rain instead of snow and stuff like that. I sure hope that they don't have to suffer through the fish kill that they did last year, or rather that the fish don't have to go through it. It certainly looks like the Global Warming has sort of inverted the weather patterns. Why do people continue to listen to blowhards like Glenn Beck who insist that there is nothing happening? Stick your head out the window, Glenn, and everyone else please try to remember his criminally wrong diatribes when he is so often shown to be in error. Of course he would like you to forget when he is wrong so that everyone will continue to buy his books. I do try to not be judgemental in this blog but in his case it is too easy to make an exception.

Oh well, enough of that rant, now that I have offended the Beck fans and bored most of the rest of us who just don't care.

An interesting day at work not the least of which is that I found one of those dry bags that is cheap and just perfect to fit the drogues that I have made. My alternatives were old briefcases or laptop cases but these things are much better plus they're water proof.

Tomorrow I will be getting an x-ray of (hopefully) an empty place where the kidney stone used to be. Don't let anyone tell you that anaesthetics today can be turned on and off like a tap. Sure you can get up and walk away pretty quickly after the doctor says that's enough, but the effects are lingering. Even tonight, a day and a half after the procedure, I am still feeling the affects. I can't wait till I am more back to normal.

Comments