S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Chill out on a hot day

Ok. Sunday and a day of rest.

Sigh. Much happiness.

Not sure if you're aware of this, or even if it's a common thing, but when Barb and I are alone out sailing overnight, I don't like leaving her alone on deck, and I guess she feels the same. So, we are both up all night. We do get some sleep it's just that we do it in one or two hour intervals, sleeping in the cockpit so if the other needs help it it only a touch and shake away. So, after the last two days we are ready for a rest. That could have been continuing up the ICW and stopping somewhere tonight but I needed to change the oil and filter on Yoki, and if I needed something Back Creek NC would not be the place to be at anchor. Also, alongside we were able to wake up R2D2 and get him chillin' the cabin down again.

Also, and I hope I'm not jinxing anything, but the step down transformer system seems to be working. Every time I have pushed start since I installed it Yoki wakes up and gets purring. Hopefully that will be the last of that problem.

I did change the oil and filter with Barb's help, and she has done another laundry with my only contribution being to provide dirty clothes. What a gal!

We had another wander about downtown Morehead City which we quite like. It reminds me a bit about Shelburne with many more people, of course. Businesses come and go. New ideas are tried with varying degrees of success. Local politicos flap their arms, promise, rant and rave, and the regular guy just tries to get on with his life. Much of this area leans fishery just like back home but that fishery is divided almost equally into commercial and sport fishery. I guess when the sea is calm the sun and warmth is quite a call to locals with a boat and beer cooler whereas at home just because the sea might rarely be calm it doesn't always mean that there will be sun. It simply isn't worth it to keep a seagoing sport fishing boat around for one or two trips a year.

I foresee an early night and an early departure tomorrow with the goal of reaching Bellhaven which is about midway up the ICW. That means that we could make Norfolk by late Tuesday or mid Wednesday. Then, as I have said, it's waiting for a window again.

Comments