S/V NELLEKE

The ship's blog for SV Nelleke out of Shelburne, NS

Back in Norfolk

Last night at supper time I was looking out over the breakwater and remarked on how fast the Sound lies down. If it were the Atlantic after the last two days it would be 12-24 hours before everything settled but there we were at 1700, with us checking the fenders and lines as recently as 1300, and everything was almost calm. After diner and a nice shower we came back to the boat, sat down, and I couldn't help it. There was sunshine and I commented. Barb said, "Shush. Don't scare it away". And this morning when I awoke at 0530 and looked out over the Sound there was barely a ripple.

What a difference a day makes....

Twenty four little hours.....,

Hurrah!

Interesting isn't it? Although you know that you are safe, that the boat is secured to a sound dock with good solid lines and functional fenders, that when the wind dies down and thing become more gentle, how much you relax aboard. Barb says I am like a flea on a hot brick and I don't do very well with nothing to do after I have done it all already. When things settled I was ready for a glass of wine or three and a chance to relax and kick back. So, on went the stereo and various bits of music.

Sigh.

There are so many facets to the Cruising lifestyle.

We spent the day underway and eventually wound up at Great Bridge again. The free spots are still there but we opted for the Atlantic Yacht Basin Marina which ended up as a good choice as we were able to finally meet the crew of SV Wanderer who hosted us to wine and cheese aboard. Tomorrow it will be our turn.

Sorry but I don't have the energy to blog more.

Tomorrow, perhaps.



Comments