South Pacific Tour/Demelza

11 March 2016
29 February 2016
26 March 2012 | Sidney BC
12 May 2011 | 16 29.36s 151 45.41w
03 May 2011 | French Poly
01 April 2010 | Revillagigedo Is/ San Benidicto
26 March 2010 | Puerto Vallarta
19 March 2010
01 March 2010 | Puerto Vallarta
07 February 2010
22 January 2010
20 November 2009
28 November 2008
24 November 2008
01 November 2008
15 October 2008

Coast of Baja

28 November 2008
light winds
IThe trip down the Baja holds a number of memories for me but mostly I was just" on the road". First stop after Ensenada was behind the bight of Bahia San Quintin, a very short stay of about an hour sleep. Kelp beds of Punta Baja and on to Bahia Tortugas. Motoring north of Isla Cedros in the middle of a very black night a cold front went through which sent me scrambling raising and adjusting sails in 35k of clocking wind and rain. It felt so good to be sailing at least. An hour of frantic activity left me once more with no wind but now very lumpy seas. Arrrrrrrg. I was so tired. Passing Isla Cedros I entered Dewey Channel: dodging crab traps and motorsailing hard to make Turtle bay before dark. Darkness fell and I could see the lights at the entrance to Turtle bay. Another squall with 40k of wind and pounding rain hit as I approached the entrance. Could I trust my chart plotter? I had to, I was too tired to think. I guess my chart plotter was accurate; I made my way into the anchorage and dropped the hook and died. Poking my head out in the morning I was near s/v Rio Nimkish, Tom and Shirley. Fueled up in Turtle bay, a short walk around town and off the next morning buddy boating with Rio Nimkish. Stops in Asuncion, behind Punta Abreojos then San Juanico were all a slalom course dodging 100s of crab traps. Ugly yellow plastic line trailed out from the traps just waiting to wrap your prop. Single handing in good sized waves looking out for and dodging all those traps. Arrrrg!! A lot of the time I followed Rio Nimkish, at least there were 2 sets of eyes on their boat. They helped me immensely. Rio Nimkish wrapped their prop and sailed into Asuncion dragging the trap as an anchor. That was enough of that so we made straight shot open ocean to Bahia Santa Maria just north of Magdalena Bay. I left Rio Nimkish and pushed on past Mag bay to Cabo San Lucas. I was looking for a place to leave Demelza and go home. Approaching Cabo Falso was at the end of the fishing day out on Golden Gate Bank as streams of fishing boats passed me, sails flogging with light air in their wake. I was so envious of their speed. Dropped anchor off the beach at Cabo staying 2 nights. Memories of my time there was listening for requests for professional alcoholics from the blaring discos on the beach front into the wee hours of the morning. Jet skis and para gliders almost ran over my anchor chain. Glad to get out of there and moved east to Marina Los Puertos in San Jose Del Cabo. I had found the spot to leave Demelza and 3 days later I was winging my way via West Jet for home. It was Dec 8 and I was looking forward to seeing everyone especially my Grandaughter Kaitlyn. Cruising was put on hold for awhile.
Comments
Vessel Name: Demelza
Vessel Make/Model: Vancouver 32PH
Hailing Port: Victoria BC
Crew: David & Elizabeth Newsome/ Cremona Alberta
About:
We are from farming country Alberta but always had a passion for water. That passion was satisfied for years by paddling trips in northern Canada or coastal BC until Demelza entered our lives in 2003. That is when we upsized and took the plunge. The learning curve was steep and challenging. [...]
Extra:
Demelza is hull #1 of only about a dozen Vancouver 32 PH made. As a result she was featured in Sailor magazine with her designer Robert Harris sailing on San Francisco bay in 1986; the article was featuring a new blue water cruiser that took the comfort and well being of her crew into [...]

Who: David & Elizabeth Newsome/ Cremona Alberta
Port: Victoria BC