Paul's Sailing Adventures

This is so that you can see what I am doing.

18 November 2008 | San Carlos - Phoenix-Las Vegas
17 November 2008 | San Carlos
16 November 2008 | Sea of Cortez
15 November 2008 | Southwest of Isla San Francisco
14 November 2008 | La Paz
13 November 2008 | Bahia de los Muertos
12 November 2008 | Bahia Frailes
11 November 2008 | Bahia Frailes
10 November 2008 | Bahia San Jose
07 November 2008 | Cabo San Lucas
06 November 2008 | Bahia Santa Maria to Cabo San Lucas
04 November 2008 | Bahia Santa Maria
02 November 2008 | Turtle Bay to Bahia Santa Maria
01 November 2008 | Turtle Bay to Bahia Santa Maria
31 October 2008 | Turtle Bay (Bahia de Tortugas)
30 October 2008 | Turtle Bay (Bahia de Tortugas)
29 October 2008 | First leg - into Turtle Bay
28 October 2008 | First Leg - toward Turtle Bay
27 October 2008 | The start to Turle Bay 10.27.08
25 October 2008 | San Diego

2008 Baja Ha Ha 11.7.08

07 November 2008 | Cabo San Lucas
Author: Paul; Weather: Hot
November 7, 2008 - Friday through November 9 - Sunday

First, when I got to my hotel and the internet, I found that the remote connection to my office computer was not working, and my cell phone had broken in San Diego. Before I go on, yes, I worked on the trip. Everything I needed was downloaded to my lap top and I have been vigilantly working a little each day. However, the "big" plan involved doing substantial work remotely once I got to Cabo, including responding to the over 500 emails I had waiting for me. I couldn't get into my computer to do it.

Anyway, due to no phone and no computer access, JJ, Stephanie, and I had a little trouble finding each other, but ultimately did early on November 7. I got to check out their condo, which is pretty impressive - and by chance I was able to watch Jackie, Stan, and Alison pulling up anchor as they had received a slip assignment and were moving Serenity. Anyway, JJ and Steph were headed home that morning and provided an "orphan bag" of supplies for the boat ranging from tequila, to Jack Daniels, to cheese, to a whole case of water, and much, much more (including animal crackers!) in between. I and the rest of the crew thank them.

I wish I had more to report about my stay in Cabo, but the folks back at the office made the fix on the computer access problem and I pretty much sat under a palapa next to the pool and worked 12-14 hours a day to get caught up. I have to say, however, that working next to the pool with an occasional swim and a Negra Medello every now and then isn't a bad way to go.


Alison, Jackie, Stan, and I met a time or two for drinks, lunch, or dinner.

On Sunday I finally caught up with the emails and I was able to play with this site that Jeff has set up for me. Thank you, Jeff.

On Saturday, Nov. 8, we attended the Baja Ha Ha awards ceremony and had many laughs. There was free beer and I have to tell you, Serenity came in third in our division...of course there were 10 other boats that also got third, but who's counting. I guess you had to be there to enjoy this so I won't get into too much detail, but in addition to the awards for what boats came in first, second, and third, there were awards for such categories as worst injury (no broken bones this year), worst dinghy mishap, best naked sailing story (in hind sight - excuse the pun - it appears we were NOT sailing close to the boats that we SHOULD have been sailing by!), worst snoring story, various fish catching categories, and worst damage to a boat. Good times were had by all and this year's Ha Ha concluded.

My personal thanks to Richard and all involved in pulling this thing off yet again.

Paul.
Comments
Hailing Port: San Diego

Port: San Diego