Paul's Sailing Adventures

This is so that you can see what I am doing.

18 November 2008 | San Carlos - Phoenix-Las Vegas
17 November 2008 | San Carlos
16 November 2008 | Sea of Cortez
15 November 2008 | Southwest of Isla San Francisco
14 November 2008 | La Paz
13 November 2008 | Bahia de los Muertos
12 November 2008 | Bahia Frailes
11 November 2008 | Bahia Frailes
10 November 2008 | Bahia San Jose
07 November 2008 | Cabo San Lucas
06 November 2008 | Bahia Santa Maria to Cabo San Lucas
04 November 2008 | Bahia Santa Maria
02 November 2008 | Turtle Bay to Bahia Santa Maria
01 November 2008 | Turtle Bay to Bahia Santa Maria
31 October 2008 | Turtle Bay (Bahia de Tortugas)
30 October 2008 | Turtle Bay (Bahia de Tortugas)
29 October 2008 | First leg - into Turtle Bay
28 October 2008 | First Leg - toward Turtle Bay
27 October 2008 | The start to Turle Bay 10.27.08
25 October 2008 | San Diego

2008 Baja Ha Ha

13 November 2008 | Bahia de los Muertos
Still windy, still warm
November 13, 2008 - Thursday

We got up at 5:30 a.m., got the Main Halyard (the rope/line used to raise the big, main sail) attached, the Flopper Stoppers up and stowed, the preventers (see prior entries) attached, and eventually the anchor up and were underway at 6:09 a.m. It is not far to our next anchorage, but we wanted to get in, settled, and go swimming before dark. Yesterday's report called for the wind to settle down today and then be pretty non-existent by noonish. As of 9:30, that all appeared to be true, but the winds never really died down they were just a bit calmer than yesterday. We were still going against the swells and although not nearly as rough as yesterday, every once in a while you hit one just right and go flying. I am sitting below deck now typing this and every few minutes the boat goes up a steep swell. Once it reaches the top of the swell, the front (bow) of the boat is suspended in the air as the swell passes, and then once the boat reaches its center of gravity, the bow falls back down to the water. Down here when that happens you are weightless for a moment until you thud back into the water. Again, I don't want to overstate this phenomena: it happens real quickly and not all the time.

We got to the anchorage about 2:00 p.m. or so and, although still windy, it was well protected from the swells and we slept much more soundly with calmer water; we did not need to put out the Rocker Stoppers.

We all went for a swim to cool off and then broke out the snorkeling gear as well. When we first arrived, we put the motor on the dinghy (you don't leave the outboard on when you pull the dinghy behind the boat), and wiped off all the dried salt off. During that process, I dropped the little towel and it immediately sank to the bottom. While snorkeling, we saw a white object on the bottom and for the longest time could not figure out what it was; it was the towel that had sunk in 32' of water (we know that because the boat obviously has a depth finder). I attempted to dive down and get it, but only got about 2/3 of the way. Returning to the surface and re-surveying the situation, I could see that several puffer fish had assumed control of the towel; they seemed to be fascinated with it. I dove down again and this time I got the towel and, my lungs bursting because I am in such horrible shape and because I had to fight so hard to dive in the very buoyant water, immediately turned and kicked for the surface. Unfortunately, my fins are fitted to wear with my dive boots and, due to the hot sea temperature, I was not wearing my boots. As such the fins are a smidge loose and, you guessed it, one of my fins came off and sank in 32' feet of water! Although I knew I had to go back down and get the fin, I also knew I would not have as much kicking power because I was missing a fin! Anyway, never wanting to pass up a challenge, Alison, wearing her fins, said she would give it a shot and, sure enough, on her first attempt got the fin (which by the time she got to it was now the subject of the blowfish curiosity).

The others went to shore for dinner at the Giggling Marlin - which is no longer the Giggling Marlin as it was sold about two months ago, it is now the El Cardon - but I stayed behind to enjoy the peace and quiet of the boat. At 43', it gets crowed with four people and having the boat to myself was a joy. We all have music to listen to, but not having to use earphones for a change was great.

Tomorrow is La Paz, which is about the same distance we traveled today. We should have internet service there, so I hope to update the www.paulkirst.com site.


Take care.

Paul.

Comments
Hailing Port: San Diego

Port: San Diego