Por Dos

Family cruising in a Catamaran

16 December 2017 | Brisbane
04 November 2015 | Brisbane, Australia
30 October 2015 | Isle de Pines, Noumea, New Caledonia
08 October 2015 | Tanna, Vanuatu
01 October 2015 | Viti Levu, Mololo, Fiji
21 September 2015 | Namena, Musket Cove Malolo, Vuda Point Viti Levu, Fiji
12 September 2015 | Vanua Levu and Taveuni, Fiji
02 September 2015 | Tonga
13 August 2015 | Suwarrow, Cook Islands
25 July 2015 | Tahaa, Bora Bora and Maupiti French Polynesia
17 June 2015 | Tahiti & Moorea, French Polynesia
16 June 2015 | Fakarava, Tuamotu Islands, French Polynesia
06 June 2015 | Tahanea, Tuamotu Islands, French Polynesia
01 June 2015 | Raiatea, Tuamotu Islands, French Polynesia
28 May 2015 | Taiohae Bay, Nuku Hiva, Marquesas Islands, French Polynesia
12 May 2015 | Taiohae Bay, Nuku Hiva, Marquesas Islands, French Polynesia
26 April 2015 | Academy Bay, Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Islas Galapagos, Ecuador
13 April 2015 | Panama to Galapagos
07 April 2015 | Balboa, Panama
31 March 2015 | Colon, Panama

Still In Block Island

17 September 2012 | 41 11.21N:071 34.39’W
Alec Morwood-Portoles
The day after we said good-bye to Matt, Marg, Tim, and Gail, we noticed strings of comb jelly like organisms floating in the crystal clear water; they were all around the boat. My mom had a great idea that we would look at them under a microscope that she had just got to use for science class. I used a bucket to scoop up a large number of them. After studying them for a while we concluded that they were fish eggs! Roan and I where then told to make a school report on our findings.

While Roan and I were doing school my dad was getting ready to go into the water with a cool breathing apparatus (There was a pump at one end that pumped air down a tube which ended in a mouth piece whenever someone took a breath in the other end) to do something with the starboard prop that included taking it apart under water. By the time he was done getting ready and had hopped in Roan and I were almost done with our schoolwork.

Schoolwork finished, I ran to my berth changed into my togs and swim shirt, put on my fins and snorkel and got into the water with Roan just behind me in his wet suit. It was breathtaking underwater; a large school of small fish was hanging around the back of the boat, it was only 10 feet deep at high tide so we could see the bottom quite well. There were spider crabs scattered over the bottom. It was really cool to swim through the clouds of fish eggs seeing the bottom, fish etc. My mom passed me a camera that can work up to 3 meters of depth for a length of 2 consecutive hours. I took a lot of photos switching of with Roan. After a little bit we went up to the bow of the boat looking around while we went. When we got there (it only took us about 1 minute going slowly) we noticed that the bridle had fallen off. Roan told me that we should go look at the anchor, and he promptly took off. We went to the anchor taking a scenic tour as we went, as we got up to the anchor we entered an area were there were many more spider crabs. Near the anchor I noticed that a metal bowl was directly on top of the anchor chain! When we got to the anchor. Roan fooled around a bit with and around the anchor (see photo above) while I looked at the local wild life. When we got back to the boat we told my mom about the bridle having fallen off and she told us to fix it. When everyone was out of the water we downloaded the photos from my camera and looked at the multitude (I had taken an awful lot of pictures).
Comments
Vessel Name: S/V Por Dos
Vessel Make/Model: Catana 48
Hailing Port: Salem, MA
Crew: Mark, Marta, Alec & Roan
S/V Por Dos's Photos - Main
5 Photos
Created 11 October 2012
26 Photos
Created 3 July 2012

Us

Who: Mark, Marta, Alec & Roan
Port: Salem, MA
Site Meter