s/v Proximity

The Voyages and Adventures of "Your Rock and Roll Argonauts".

31 December 2019 | Emeryville Roadtrip
16 July 2017 | Wrangell Harbor
15 July 2017 | Petersburg, Alaska
12 July 2017 | Baronof Warmm Springs
10 July 2017 | Tenakee Inlet
08 July 2017 | Hoohah
07 July 2017 | Elfin Cove Dock
29 June 2017 | Yakutat City Dock
29 June 2017 | Yakutat City Dock
29 June 2017 | Yakutat City Dock
26 June 2017 | Gulf of Alaska, East of Kayak Island, West of Icy Bay
25 June 2017 | Gulf of Alaska
24 June 2017 | Seward, Alaska
21 June 2017 | Seward, Alaska
20 June 2017 | Seward, Alaska
22 April 2017 | Seward, Alaska
22 April 2017 | Passage to Kodiak
22 April 2017 | Chignik,, Alaska
22 April 2017 | Sand Point, Alaska

Day 30

15 June 2016 | 499 miles from Initial Approach Fix
Rod
Tuesday, June 14 Boy, today was the day of ship traffic. Here we are, crossing the world's shipping lanes where big ships, many big ships are traveling from west to east. Many are very fast at 20 knots, and none can see us. We are socked in fog. All day, all the time, and forecast to remain so until we arrive Dutch Harbor. This, of course means that we and the ships cannot see each other. We have a friend who is Captain on a container ship, who told us that a yacht is just invisible on his bridge. Can't see us even in the clearest of times. He is a yachtie too, so he is not being mean. Thus, we have AIS. The AIS was calling out ship after ship today, most would be passing in front, to the north, or behind to to south. But then along came the ship named "Ever Lively" from Singapore. What a good name, and it was very lively for a while. We were on as perfect a collision course we have ever seen, and since he was coming at 20 knots, and we were making 6, it was happening fast. I believe I got his signal at about 29 miles, just over an hour away. With such a course, I called him on the VHF right away, and he answered right away. Wonderful, as sometimes they just don't respond, and one has to resort to MMSI calls. The captain was friendly and cheerful, but not at all concerned. "I cannot see you on AIS, nor the radar, so we will be fine". No, you don't understand, I said, I see YOU on our AIS, and we are clearly on a course with a less than one mile intercept. May I give you my position, course and speed? "Yes, ok." I give it, and am met with quiet. Ah, he is plotting our position, will see the situation and will advise me of his intention soon. 10 long minutes pass, meanwhile, the closing is getting closer. I call again. Hello, did you get my position? "Umm, Can you give it to me again please?" So, I go through it again, and stay with him this time, stressing the importance of action by one of us. Then he said, "Oh, yes, I see. My calculation shows that we can cross safely." Meanwhile, my AIS shows us as occupying the same place at the same time. So, I tell him this, and request that since it is so foggy and we cannot see each other, perhaps we can do a few degrees course change. He agrees and we see on the AIS that he entered a degree to pass in front of us. Since he is overtaking us from left to right and from slightly behind to front, it is not adequate, and I mention so. He then exclaims cheerfully that "Oh, I see you on the AIS now. We will cross behind you." Ah, thank you very much, and we see him turn a few degrees to starboard. Whew, now it looks as if we will have about 3 miles clearance. This is quite a lot actually, but in the fog, on a very cold and inhospitable sea, most captains seem to be more comfortable with a bigger margin. But at this point, the problem is solved. We are both still talking on the radio, and he becomes very chatty asking many friendly questions. "You are a small yacht, how did you come to be here?" "Where did your voyage originate and what is your destination?" "How many on board?" "Only you and your wife?, I am very impressed." All very nice things, and we are thanking him for his help, and wishing each other a nice day, etc. But we haven't passed yet, so Elisabeth and I remain glued to the AIS watching what looks to us to be a very close passing. If it were clear, we could have seen him easily. Finally, closest point of approach was passed, and we all wished each other the best. His ship was destined for Los Angeles and said that they are looking forward to a few days of fun visiting. "Is it a fun place to visit?" he asked. Yes, I think you can have some fun there. And then as a last item, he gave us a weather report of some winds that are coming on Wednesday or Thursdasy. Finally, after the Lively feeling in my stomach subsided, I went and ate my very cold omlette that Elisabeth had been making when "Ever Lively showed up. It was very lively, and ended very well. Not for the faint of heart.

That's enough for today. I promised some answers to questions today, but this story is long enough for one report. I promise that I will get to the questions. hey, where an I going to go? I'll be here for you tomorrow. Be Excellent to Each Other! Rod and Elisabeth,

"Your Rock and Roll Argonauts" "Les Pirates d'Honneur"
Comments
Vessel Name: Proximity
Vessel Make/Model: Swan 41
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Rod Lambert, Elisabeth Lehmberg
About:
Who Are Rod and Elisabeth? We are Rod Lambert and Elisabeth Lehmberg. Elisabeth is from Bremerhaven, Germany, and Rod is from Monterey, California. In our youth we each had dreams of living on the water and sailing long distance. [...]
Extra: 2017 Update. From 2009 to Summer 2016, we sailed the South Pacific Ocean, visiting many many wonderful places and meeting incredible all along the way. Finally, it was time to do something a little different, so we headed North. North to Alaska. The dream continues. Welcome!
Social:
Proximity's Photos - Main
No items in this gallery.