Queen’s Ransom circumnavigating Ireland and the Orkneys

Queen’s Ransom III is a Najad 520 from the UK

27 November 2023 | Chatham
26 November 2023 | Queenborough, Isle of Sheppey
25 November 2023 | Ramsgate
10 November 2023 | Weymouth
15 October 2023 | Dittisham, River Dart
14 October 2023 | River Yealm
22 September 2023 | Fowey
03 September 2023 | River Yealm
02 September 2023 | New Grimsby Sound
01 September 2023 | Tresco, Isles of Scilly
31 August 2023 | Celtic Sea
30 August 2023 | Great Saltee Island, County Wexford, Ireland
28 August 2023 | Castletown, Isle of Man
27 August 2023 | Bangor
26 August 2023 | Sound of Islay
25 August 2023 | Oban
24 August 2023 | Oban
23 August 2023 | Mallaig
22 August 2023 | Loch Duich
21 August 2023 | Stornoway

A Sail as Luggage

04 June 2016 | Porto Santo
Ulric
The VIP Air staff carries the sail off the plane at Porto Santo Airport

This was absolutely crazy. I had ordered a taxi for 0545am. 15 minutes before it came, I suddenly realised that I probably had prepared the wrong sail to take with me. I had some spare old sails at home; main sails, genoas. I pulled it out from my car and spread it out on the pavement this early Saturday morning with Elliott's heroic help.

Queenie's genoa got torn last trip. I had ordered a new one from Kemp Sails. However, it had been shipped into a black hole; a dock workers strike in Portugal. For all we knew, it was somewhere on a container in the port of Lisbon.

I sent the taxi away with a tip. Upon further investigation and reflection, I concluded it might just be the right sail after all. The taxi came back and off we went to the airport. Mohammed Ali had died this morning. This made the airwaves and small talk in the taxi. I made some arrangements with the driver, to pickup the sail again and drive it back home, if it was refused to take onboard the plane.

I had brought a 45 kg sail with me. I gave my chances less than 50 per cent that it would work. I felt very sheepish, like a small boy who had been stealing apples in the neighbour's garden as I pushed the giant sail around Gatwick Airport on a trolley. I was texting back and forth to Matt at Kemp Sails. How could I tell if it was the right sail? Could even a main be used as a genoa in the worst case? I thoughtI was an idiot to not be able to tell, but Matt said it is not easy. He also made an heroic effort of support as always and this morning.

Absolutely amazing, British Airways let the sail on without even charging extra. I am sure that I was helped by being a BA Executive Club gold member, but nevertheless this was not to be expected. It is definitely my favourite airline! The relief to not cart the sail around was immense and it was going on the plane. How cool is that!

Next test was how the airline running small propeller planes between Madeira and Porto Santo was going to respond. They have the improbable name of VIP Air. Once again, I thought the odds were less than 50 per cent. The girl at the ticket office suggested that I pay Euro 14 extra to get a premium ticket instead of paying for the luggage excess. Amazing! Queenie's sail filled the whole luggage compartment on the small plane.

Hans had already arrived a few hours earlier. The big test was trying to get the sail mounted. Would the leech line fit? It did! Was it a genoa? Yes, it was! Amazing, I had the right sail with me. Hans and I had the normal list of things to contend with; filling water, fuel, shoppings, repairs etc. The evening ended with dinner ashore and a visit to our local favourite bar.

Comments
Vessel Name: Queen's Ransom III
Vessel Make/Model: Najad 520
Hailing Port: Medway, UK
About:
Extra:
Queen's Ransom III is a Najad 520 build no. 22 from 1996. She is equipped and maintained for world wide cruising. Read more about her Viking Voyage on this website "the Mission" under favourites Go to "the Boat" under favourites to read more about Queen's Ransom. Go to "the Voyage" under [...]
Home Page: http://www.queens-ransom.com