My Sailing Experiences

18 May 2009
11 May 2009
25 April 2009
23 April 2009
20 April 2009
18 April 2009
10 April 2009
30 March 2009
23 March 2009
17 March 2009
12 March 2009
26 February 2009
24 October 2008
10 October 2008
03 October 2008

Thursday and Saturday Race

04 May 2009
This is a combination post because there really was not information worth writing a new blog entry for based on Thursday's sail. I went to the DIYC for the Thursday night race and because a lot of the older crew were there, I spent all of the trip as weight over the high side. The sail was nice but for me it was very uneventful.

Saturday's race was much better. I raced on Rocket which is the J35 that I raced on a few Sundays ago. They asked me back to race with them this Sunday for a Regatta at DIYC. The course was simple with beats and runs. The day was nice and the winds were consistent in the morning. The actual race started around 11am but by 1pm the winds had died down to nothing. The race was postponed and we took the time to eat some lunch aboard while we waited for the committee to decide between calling the race or continuing the races.

The race was called due to the lack of wind and we motored in to the dock. It was a good time and fun to race with this crew. I worked as Jib trimmer and worked the guy for the Spinnaker runs. My Jib trimming was good and fast on the tacks. I really enjoy that part of sailing. At least with this group, if I'm on the boat and I am working or trimming something. Its is better then just being weight over the highside.

I noticed that the winds filled in as the afternoon passed. I guess we are heading for the time of year here when the winds are good in the mornings, die down around mid day and then tend to build as the afternoon passes from the breeze coming in from the gulf.

Lets see how the week develops with the race on Thursday and whether there is crew work for me. Like I said, it depends on who else is there. Saturday will hopefully be back on Jessie's or Reggie's boat for a day sail or something. I really enjoy that as well. I'm still in the mindset that racing is alright but cruising around is a lot of fun as well.
Comments
Vessel Name: Havana
Hailing Port: Tampa, Florida
Crew: Ramon
About:
I am 38 years old and started sailing in 2008. I took sailing classes and started sailing from from the St. Petersburg Sailing Center and got involved with as crew for the Thursday Night Races at Davis Island Yacht Club in Tampa. [...]

Who: Ramon
Port: Tampa, Florida