My Sailing Experiences

18 May 2009
11 May 2009
25 April 2009
23 April 2009
20 April 2009
18 April 2009
10 April 2009
30 March 2009
23 March 2009
17 March 2009
12 March 2009
26 February 2009
24 October 2008
10 October 2008
03 October 2008

Update from Last Week

11 May 2009
It has been a few days since I updated this Blog but my most recent sail was this past Thursday May 7th. I sailed on Cats Meow again, which is the boat I have raced on since I started doing the Thursday Night Races at DIYC. I mention that because the boat I have been doing some racing on during the weekends, Rocket, is going to start doing the Thursday Races.

Although I have been torn between loyalty and frustration, I have made a decision regarding Thursday Nights. I have become a little frustrated with either riding the rail or just doing strings because more experienced or senior crew shows up. On Rocket I will be sail trimming. I spoke to Dave about my concerns and he assured me that there would be no problem and that it would be better for me because of the experience I would further gain and the connections I would make. It seems that J Boat racers are competitive and once you become known, others try to pick you up for major races.

Lets see if my feelings as far as racing are concerned changes, but at the least I will be doing what I come to do every Thursday. Although I love sailing, I find no great pleasure in just riding the rail or strings. I love sailing but also really enjoy the personal reward of sail trimming. Enough said on all of that and what will be, will be.

I did not get to sail this weekend but went out Saturday afternoon on my friend Frank's Sea Ray for a booze cruise and cigars. It was a beautiful afternoon and it is always a great time on the water. I spoke to Jessie and I will be sailing with her again next Saturday. I look forward to those sailing experiences because it is more laid back and relaxing while rewarding at the same time. Lets see how the week develops and how the Thursday sail goes.
Comments
Vessel Name: Havana
Hailing Port: Tampa, Florida
Crew: Ramon
About:
I am 38 years old and started sailing in 2008. I took sailing classes and started sailing from from the St. Petersburg Sailing Center and got involved with as crew for the Thursday Night Races at Davis Island Yacht Club in Tampa. [...]

Who: Ramon
Port: Tampa, Florida