Ranger's Cruise

Who: Dale Hedtke, Amy Brooks, Harvey the Poodle
Port: Duluth, MN
15 May 2014 | Duluth
27 October 2013
02 February 2013
31 January 2013 | On the hard at BIM
12 March 2012 | Duluth
12 March 2012 | Duluth, MN

Perkins Oil Seal Repair

05 June 2013
We're still "living the dream!" One of our major gripes with the boat has been a leaky rear main seal. (It's a Perkins, which means there are always leaks.) We put it off long enough.

However, there is a god (and he likes me...) On the Morgan 38 Owners' Group web site I found an illustrated 28 page manual on how to make the repair. It was exactly like our boat too, so I gained a lot of confidence in the repair.

The repair is almost complete and went well. It was just a matter of disassembling the components, cleaning everything, putting in a new split seal and rear gasket, and assembling everything again. Nothing was hard, but it's awkward reaching in thru the side of the quarter berth to reach everything. My ribcage is still sore from laying over the opening. The only drama would come when I would need to get my shoulders thru the opening. I'd do the work, get cought, panic, and calm my self down, and then pull out. What great fun...

As part of the repair I replaced the 4 engine mounts, which means that the coupling needs to be realigned. I'm close, but haven't fine tuned it yet. Soon.

While I had the transmission, etc. out, I decided to paint (Bilge Coat Gray) under the engine. It looks great! I also found that the coolant hoses that run from the engine to the water heater were getting sticky(?!) so I am now working on changing them. Not hard other than finding the route under the sole in the galley. Once the system if filled with antifreeze, I can start the engine and check for leaks. Fingers crossed.
Comments
Vessel Name: Ranger
Vessel Make/Model: Morgan 383
Hailing Port: Duluth, MN
Crew: Dale Hedtke, Amy Brooks, Harvey the Poodle

Who: Dale Hedtke, Amy Brooks, Harvey the Poodle
Port: Duluth, MN