The Revolution

I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat systems, weather and the general liveaboardl lifestyle. This is my story as I learn the ropes to sail into the sunset.

08 May 2011 | Marsh Harbor, Bahamas (Bahamas)
07 May 2011 | Spanish Wells, Bahamas (Bahamas)
05 May 2011 | Nassau, Bahamas (United States)
29 April 2011 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 April 2011
11 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
14 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
11 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
09 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
08 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
07 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
06 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
08 January 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
29 December 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
30 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
17 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
16 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)

Rickenbacker Marina to Rickenbacker Marina

08 January 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
Melissa
Clear, 50-60 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 50-60 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 50-60 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 50-60 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 50-60 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft
Total Distance: 0 Miles Under Sail: 0
Average Speed: 0 kts
Conditions: Clear, 50-60 F, Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft

Hybernating - As you all can tell I have not been sailing much the last few months. That trend is going to get worse at least in the next 3 months. Why you ask? I am going for shoulder surgery next week to repair a bone spur, bursitis and rotator cuff tear. Not sure where/what I did to injure my shoulder but the pain and limited mobility is at a point I need to get it done. The only two places I can think where I injured my shoulder was a sailing accident I had in Cancun a few years back or work related. It doesn't really matter, it hurts and I need to fix it finally. The recovery time for this will be 3-6 months.
For the first time, I put Rhapsody in Blue to rest. It was a very sad event for me. All the food was taken out and given to my dockmates. The water tank was filled and clorine was added. I changed out or cleaned all the filters. The air conditioning screen was the hardest for some reason. Everytime I clean it the coils get an air lock. I almost couldn't get the air lock out. I tried all my tricks including using the garden hose in the intake. Nothing worked. In the end, I decided to reverse flush out the coils. Connecting the hose to the out-take hose at the thru hull, the air lock finally surrendered. This whole process almost made me late for my flight back home. She got a good cleaning inside and out. I took down all the sailing gear I could and stored them. When I left the only thing running was the air conditioner set on humitiy control and the battery charger. She will be lonely. I will be lonely too.
As you all know I hate my refrig. Gil and I were talking the other day about ripping it out and putting in a new one. If I am going to do it, now will be a great time while I am out of service. Gil said he will do it for me for a price. If Uncle Sam is kind to me this year I believe I will do it. Maybe, if she gets upgrade she will still love me when I return.
Comments
Vessel Name: Rhapsody in Blue
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 36 2006
Hailing Port: Key Biscayne, Fl
Crew: Melissa
About:
Capt Melissa- I started sailing in 1983 on my boat a Tanzar 22. She was a great boat and raced her when ever I could. When I got stationed to England I had to sell her and my sailing habit took a back burner for many years. When I rotated back to the states, the family and I settle in Tulsa, Ok. [...]
Extra:
The Mission. To seek out cruising knowledge for the next 5 years, so I can go boldly where no woman has gone before, 10 year circumnaviagte the univerise. Wrong show!!! I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat [...]

Crazy Woman Boat Driver

Who: Melissa
Port: Key Biscayne, Fl