The Revolution

I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat systems, weather and the general liveaboardl lifestyle. This is my story as I learn the ropes to sail into the sunset.

08 May 2011 | Marsh Harbor, Bahamas (Bahamas)
07 May 2011 | Spanish Wells, Bahamas (Bahamas)
05 May 2011 | Nassau, Bahamas (United States)
29 April 2011 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 April 2011
11 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
14 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
11 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
09 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
08 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
07 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
06 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
08 January 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
29 December 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
30 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
17 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
16 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)

Pumpkin Key to Sunset Cove

09 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
Melissa
Clear, 70-75 F,  Wind Northwest at 10-15 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 70-75 F,  Wind Northwest at 10-15 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 70-75 F,  Wind Northwest at 10-15 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 70-75 F,  Wind Northwest at 10-15 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 70-75 F,  Wind Northwest at 10-15 kts, Seas 1-2 ft
Total Distance: 22 Miles Under Sail: 12
Average Speed: 5.5 kts
Conditions: Clear, 70-75 F, Wind Northwest at 10-15 kts, Seas 1-2 ft

Tuesday; The next morning, the crew rose early to meet the day. Three of us are coffee drinkers. Yesterday, we made coffee buy pouring hot water a little at a time through my little 4 cup coffee maker. A slow process. I had bought a old fashion percolator a year ago. The one time I tried to use it, it failed to work. Well, Jenn the magician she is, got it to work. So fresh perk coffee was had by all. Being a huge coffee drinker, the captain was very happy. A happy Captain is a happy boat. Jenn cooked up eggs and bacon. A perfect way to start the day's sail. We raise anchor and headed south. They next anchorage was south Key Largo in front of a sailing club my girlfriend Dianne just spent last week at. It was a motor-sail mostly. I had to charge the batteries and the ICW channel was narrow and low. Once again my depth alarm was singing a lot. We made it to Sunset Cove with no causalities. They bay here is very very shallow averaging around 6 feet ( I draw 5 feet). After circling around I found a nice spot to drop the anchor in 6.5 feet of water. The hook set the first time. The crew informed me we were running out of beer. Mutiny was planned. I tried to call and hail the sailing club to see if there was a store nearby. The harbormaster didn't pick up the phone or mic. The wind started picking up to 15 knots. Rhapsody was anchored out about a ½ mile from shore. I thought we would just dinghy in and see if we could find a store on our own but the crew felt the wet ride wasn't worth it.. We saw the Catalina 22's from the sailing club, sailing around until sunset. Some catamaran with tourist came by us to check us out. It was a little to close for me and I wasn't happy sailorette by the poor seamanship the skipper showed. With sundowners in hand and another great meal prepared a great day of sailing was fading into the sunset. We had the bay to ourselves the whole night. The winds were gusting all night to 18 knots. Needless to say, I didn't sleep well as Rhapsody swung about the anchor. I was up every 2 hours checking out that we didn't drag even though I set the anchor alarm on the chartplotter and hand held GPS. It did go off once during the night as the wind shifted 180 degrees. While the boat didn't drag, I was up for 2 hours on anchor watch. Not sure I will ever get used to being on the hook and trusting the anchor considering my previous nights on the hook.
Comments
Vessel Name: Rhapsody in Blue
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 36 2006
Hailing Port: Key Biscayne, Fl
Crew: Melissa
About:
Capt Melissa- I started sailing in 1983 on my boat a Tanzar 22. She was a great boat and raced her when ever I could. When I got stationed to England I had to sell her and my sailing habit took a back burner for many years. When I rotated back to the states, the family and I settle in Tulsa, Ok. [...]
Extra:
The Mission. To seek out cruising knowledge for the next 5 years, so I can go boldly where no woman has gone before, 10 year circumnaviagte the univerise. Wrong show!!! I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat [...]

Crazy Woman Boat Driver

Who: Melissa
Port: Key Biscayne, Fl