The Revolution

I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat systems, weather and the general liveaboardl lifestyle. This is my story as I learn the ropes to sail into the sunset.

08 May 2011 | Marsh Harbor, Bahamas (Bahamas)
07 May 2011 | Spanish Wells, Bahamas (Bahamas)
05 May 2011 | Nassau, Bahamas (United States)
29 April 2011 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 April 2011
11 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
14 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
11 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
09 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
08 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
07 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
06 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
08 January 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
29 December 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
30 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
17 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
16 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)

Rickenbacker Marina to Rickenbacker Marina

29 April 2011 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
Melissa
Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft
Total Distance: 0 Miles Under Sail: 0
Average Speed: 0 kts
Conditions: Clear, 75-80 F, Wind South at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft

How come every time a sailor wants to sail to a destination, the weather gods always have the last laugh. The Gulf Stream is going to be nasty this weekend and most of next week. Not sure when I will leave. The Gulf Stream is going to get UGLY with average height waves around 6-8 feet this weekend. My crew bailed on me for the crossing so I might do the first week alone. Not to happy about that. Tonight would have been a good night to cross but I am still on call for work. :>(
I have been a busy girl all week doing projects. Mast got tuned the other day. Also I lead the boom vang back to the cockpit. That sheet owns the first clutch. I had to move the mainsail furling ropes over one. Since we had to cut it I had them installed a new set of ropes. Red of course. :>).. The last clutch has double duty of the jib halyard and the tack line for the Asymmetrical sail. They had to put another rope clutch on the mast for the jib halyard which is pretty cool. Starting to look like a race boat now. :>)...
Provisioning the boat has been something else. I have 8 boxes of beer under the floor boards, 6 bottle of wines in old socks where the speed transducer lives. I made up some straps for the space behind the settee cushions live to hold all the cans of soda. It can hold a shit load of sodas. I bought a 6 quart pressure cooker. Not sure how to use it yet. I am thinking I should have gotten the 4 quart one.
I bought 4 of those Solar LED patio/driveway lights from Home Depot for $4 each. Very cool at night. Since I don't have spreader lights I wanted something to light up the side decks enough I could see. Two of them does a nice job. The other two I have back in the cockpit.
One of my Cuban dockmates gave me a fishing lesson yesterday. He set up my trolling pole of "Death" to catch Maui Maui. In 3 years I have never gotten anything yet. But than again I just throw the stupid line out when ever I am sailing in the ocean and not really trying.
With all this extra weight on the boat, my water line has dropped an inch or two. LOL. I haven't even put on the 4x5gal water containers yet. The boat is an absolute mess right now. Today might be boat cleaning day. I have to get all my winter cloths out and rearrange the V-berth for guests. Not looking forward to that at all.
Love Ya all
Comments
Vessel Name: Rhapsody in Blue
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 36 2006
Hailing Port: Key Biscayne, Fl
Crew: Melissa
About:
Capt Melissa- I started sailing in 1983 on my boat a Tanzar 22. She was a great boat and raced her when ever I could. When I got stationed to England I had to sell her and my sailing habit took a back burner for many years. When I rotated back to the states, the family and I settle in Tulsa, Ok. [...]
Extra:
The Mission. To seek out cruising knowledge for the next 5 years, so I can go boldly where no woman has gone before, 10 year circumnaviagte the univerise. Wrong show!!! I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat [...]

Crazy Woman Boat Driver

Who: Melissa
Port: Key Biscayne, Fl