Roars lille eventyrreise

En 2 måneders seiltur rundt det indiske hav

20 May 2010 | Karon beach, Phuket
16 May 2010 | Ao Chalong, Koh Phuket, Thailand
28 April 2010 | Male, The Maldives
26 April 2010 | Male, The Maldives
23 April 2010 | Utenfor Male, Maldivene
22 April 2010 | Dubai, Forenede arabiske emirater
15 April 2010 | Dubai, Forenede Arabiske Emirater
12 April 2010 | Dubai, Forenede Arabiske Emirater
10 April 2010 | Bærum
09 April 2010 | Bærum
08 April 2010 | Bærum
05 April 2010 | Bærum, Norge

At the hotel

20 May 2010 | Karon beach, Phuket
34 degrees, sunny
I checked in at my hotel last afternoon. A reasonably nice hotel along the beach road overlooking the Andaman sea, check out this link. Although the prices are more expensive around this area than Ao Chalong, which basically is the free port/harbor in Phuket. Now, when I say expensive, I mean the price for a dinner has gone up from 15 NOK to 25 NOK, so it is still manageable you might say :)

I just say one thing: A bed and a shower are extremely underrated things to have in a person's life! After 23 and some days sleeping where and on what you see on the picture, I felt like a new man waking up this morning!

Right now it is too hot to do anything but to relax in the shade, but I spent last night exploring the area for a while, and will rent a motorcycle for a day or two to drive around the countryside of this island. The tourist pamphlet also says "there are few, if any, things in this world that can prepare you for Bangla Road at Patong" so naturally I have to go there and check what all the fuzz is about haha!

I know the tension in Bangkok has given some folks back home some concerns, but there is no sign of civil unrest down here in Phuket, mainly because the insurgents are farmers which resides in the north and east of Thailand. People are generally content down here, and I am in no danger. But just to satisfy those at home; I have taken every precaution on my return trip home. Although the transfer area on Bangkok airport is considered a safe zone, I will not spend any more time than 2 hours there before the flight heads off to Dubai.

Wish you all a pleasant day, and I will come back with more updates later on!
Comments
Vessel Name: Celtic Avenger