01 May 2014
01 May 2014 | Marina di Ragusa
03 April 2014
04 April 2012 | Marina di Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
24 November 2011 | San Francisco
17 November 2011
19 October 2011 | Ragusa, Sicily
09 October 2011 | Mahon, Menorca
22 September 2011
14 September 2011 | Barcelona, Spain
15 August 2011 | Frankfurt, Germany
01 April 2011 | Vigo, Spain
20 March 2011 | Oia, Spain
21 February 2011 | Vigo, Spain
16 February 2011 | Vigo, still...
07 December 2010 | Richland, Washington
29 November 2010 | Paris, France

An Unbelievable Day

01 April 2011 | Vigo, Spain
Skip T
It all started with a great night’s sleep. Well rested, I woke up to a beautifully sunny day. I headed into the bathroom (I just can’t get used to saying “the head”) and low and behold it was a good hair day too. I had not even dried my hair the night before, but this morning it had soft, beachy waves in it. Fab! I test my luck and get on the scale…wow, another nice surprise. With that kind of mojo going for me I tried on a pair of jeans that I hadn’t fit into for about six months. Holy Calvin Klein! They fit.

On my streak, Steve and I headed off to town to do some errands and have lunch. Riding through the marinas, I nearly run over something shiny. I stop to find that it’s a 2 euro coin. Alright!

We head to the local pharmacy to buy some necessities and while eyeing my favorite lotion, the clerk tells me that that brand is 80% off today – some overstock thing or another. I buy a year’s worth and she throws in some full-size samples. Can’t get better than that.

So we make our way down the street to the Panaderia, where we find our bread has just come out of the oven and is warm and delicious. What luck! Onto the fruits & vegetable stand to find that today they have fennel and broccoli – two things I love but never see – as well as the most gorgeous red bell peppers, that we’ve been eating by the dozen.

It’s time for lunch – we’ve actually hit the time right today – and we stop by our favorite local Italian place. The place is packed. We greet the owners and they immediately show us to our favorite table by the window, which is empty, as if waiting for just us. She always has a big smile but today she’s nearly giddy. She says that this morning her fish guy had given her some extra lobster. She was his last stop and a good customer so he gave her what he had left. She goes on to tell me that since we’ve been such good customers that the lobster today is on the house. We order our favorite wine, which they’ve been out of, but today have found an extra bottle in the back for us. In fact, it’s even a better vintage. Great!

While I’m paying our bill, I happen to feel something in the pocket of my jeans, and discover a folded up 20 euro bill. Well, isn’t that something?!

Full on lobster and with sun on our face, we ride home, with the wind to our back, all downhill. How pleasant. We stop into the marina reception to pick up our laundry, which has come early – wow, that never happens. I tell Monica about my day, including my discovery that I can wear a smaller pair of jeans. She eyes my bag of peppers and asks me if I knew about their Galician red peppers. I tell her I know how much we like them. She goes on to explain that these peppers are famously known for their ability to shed pounds by not allowing fats to absorb easily. She said you can eat as much chorizo and manchego as you want while eating them with these peppers and you’ll actually lose weight.

Just then, the marina owner, Joaquin, comes out of his office and says that he has been waiting for us to return. He has an eccentric but wealthy client who has seen our boat and says it’s exactly what he was going to order from Lagoon, but he doesn’t want to wait or deal with the hassles. So, he offers us DOUBLE what we paid, in CASH, but the deal needs to happen today, before he leaves for Hong Kong.

We can’t believe what we’re hearing, but know an unbelievable deal when we see one. For the next hour we’re being helped with paperwork and there are documents to be notarized. I go to sign and date one of them…”Steve, what’s the date today anyway?”
...
...
...
...
...
...
...
Gotcha! Or did I?
Comments
Vessel Name: At Last
Vessel Make/Model: Lagoon 400
Crew: Cap'n Steve & Skip T
About:
Steve & Tracy are from southern California and decided to follow their dream in 2010; sell their home, say "see ya soon" to family, friends and their Chelsea, get rid their worldly possessions (well most), buy a catamaran and take off to see the world. [...]
Extra: FB: Tracy Bryant Van Anda

Who: Cap'n Steve & Skip T