08 May 2009 | Ventura, California
29 April 2009 | United States/Mexican Border
25 April 2009 | Cabo Colonet, Mexico
08 April 2009 | Bahia Tenacatita, Mexico
09 March 2009 | Half-way to San Jose, Costa Rica
09 March 2009 | Half-way to San Jose, Costa Rica
04 March 2009 | Playa Dominicalito, Costa Rica
27 February 2009 | Savegre River, Costa Rica
21 February 2009 | Isla del Rey, Las Perlas
13 February 2009 | Isla del Rey, Las Perlas
31 January 2009 | Fort Sherman, Colon, Panama
25 January 2009 | Small island of Kuna Yala
24 January 2009 | Isla Maquina, Kuna Yala
18 January 2009
18 January 2009
02 January 2009 | Curacao/Bonaire
02 January 2009 | Curacao/Bonaire
19 December 2008 | Rainforest of St. Lucia
19 December 2008 | Rainforest of St. Lucia
30 September 2008 | Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Kuna Island Dancers

24 January 2009 | Isla Maquina, Kuna Yala
by Ryan Harris
"O.K." Our Kuna Indian tour guide said," We shall travel by boat to the next island to watch my people dance."

With our friends from a boat called Pelican Express (who were also from Ventura) and our guest Bill Vaniotis, the Kuna guide led us to a boat that was going to take us to the next island. The guide retrieved two dugout canoes, each with small outboard engines. Docked up, we all started to get in. Wesley and I got in the front then my Mom, followed by my Dad and then Bill at the very back.

By the time we were on our friends were ready in their canoe, too. We had to go up against the waves to get to the island. We started to leave and go up and down the waves and then splash! A was soaked beyond soaked. I shivered me timbers! Splash! Another wave soaked me! For the next 30 minutes it happened again and again... By the time we got to the island I was a wet rag. I wrung out my clothes and got enough water to fill up a pitcher of water. The only reason Wesley didn't get was because I was taking all the water from the waves.

After I wrung out my clothes the Kuna guide navigated us through the primitive huts that engulfed the tiny island. We walked through the muddy streets to a very large hut that we heard lots of singing and stomping. We saw the Kuna Indians dancing in a circle and stomping their feet on the ground of hard rock hard sand. Their was a singer (like a shaman), chanting in a weird scratchy voice.

Our guide said that they were celebrating a Kuna Indian girl for her 18th birthday, which is when a girl becomes an adult. After watching the dancers for a little while a small hand touched my ribs and I looked down to see a very young Kuna asking me in Spanish if I would like to play tag. I agreed and instantaneously the girl started to run away. I started to pursue her but she was very hard to catch since she was small and could run quickly between the people.

But sadly the lion always catches the prey. We played for about 15 minutes until we had to leave. We went through the huts again towards the canoe. Back on our taxi and towards the Gone Native. We didn't get splashed this time because we went with the waves.

As soon as we got to the boat, I headed straight for the shower. After such a day, all I could do was collapse on my bed with Kuna Indians dancing in my head.

Comments
Vessel Make/Model: Norseman 430
Hailing Port: Ventura, California
Album: Main | Crew of the S/V Gone Native
Side trip to Samaria Gorge
6 Photos | 1 Sub-Album
Created 27 August 2008