S/V SALACIA

Vessel Name: SALACIA
Vessel Make/Model: 1964 Chris Craft Sailyacht 35
Hailing Port: St Simons Island, Georgia
Crew: Bob and Dawn Akins
About: Kids are all on their own and we are looking to sail all we can! New to sailing but not boats and water.
23 February 2013 | St Simons Island, Georgia
12 February 2013 | Indian Harbor Beach,Fl
Recent Blog Posts
23 February 2013 | St Simons Island, Georgia

New home for Salacia

Arrived here approx. April 3rd to new slip at Frederica Yacht Club on the Condo docks.(Details of trip next entry) Even though the drive from home to Salacia was halved by the move to St Simons, it is still a drive to get there and hard to get enough time off to spend the better part of a day driving each way. Need 3 days to get 1 days work done, 5 to get 3 days work done, etc. I am coming to grips with the fact that nothing gets done in a hurry. So far, in almost 11 months, the work finished is not really impressive....but is getting done slowly but surely. Got 4 new house batteries in 2 banks of 2 and 2 new starting batteries installed and anchored with all new cabling and terminal ends, smart charge sensors, new battery switches and updated controllers. Solar panels and wind gen serviced and online. New injector pump, injectors and fuel lines. Last engine rebuild believed to be 1989 on the Perkins 4-108. Plumbing needs addressed. Installed new DSC radios. Lots of other odds and end repairs and upgrades. Got main cabin nice and dry with AC working....a big plus. Need to get me some crew to start taking her out on local trips. Need practice w everything, boat handling, anchoring, navigating, etc. I still have a lot of work to do and get done before I am ready to try an East Coast trip this summer. Gonna want at least a good year of cruising experience before I try any real open passages..... the trip here was an excellent first passage and taught me a lot as well as solidified my belief that this is definitely something I want to try.

12 February 2013 | Indian Harbor Beach,Fl

And there She was!.....

It was November 2011 and I had just driven over 11 hrs. to look at an abandoned project boat near Merrit Island, Florida. After 4 yrs. of repairing and sailing small boats on freshwater lakes, always with the goal of getting a big boat and "getting out there", I stood looking at what I was sure was my destiny. All through the entire process heretofore experienced I constantly perused all the internet sites for used bluewater boats. Spent endless hrs. on various sailing forums reading other peoples ideas on what constituted a good offshore boat. The different hull designs, ballast and keel configurations, necessary attributes to make reasonable comfort and maximum inherent safety were all studiously picked apart and examined over and over. I hadn't really figured on actually buying a big boat for another 3 or 4 yrs...but I was suddenly convinced that no matter how long I waited this was the one. She was called Salacia, a 35 ft. center cockpit Chris Craft sailboat made in 1964. She had a solid FG constructed deck and hull. A modified full keel w cutaway forefoot and shoal draft of 4'8". Her systems had been almost completely removed by the current owner with the intentions of updating them at some point. That point never arrived for him. He married a girl more interested in motorcycles, so Salacia languished at a dock for over 8 yrs uncared for. She survived 2 hurricanes and numerous lightning strikes during that time. She bore them well. I bought her that day. After 4 months of traveling to her to work on getting her moved closer to home, myself and a motley crew sailed her to St Simons Island, GA where she sits today. I will get to that quite adventurous story soon....

And there She was!.....

12 February 2013 | Indian Harbor Beach,Fl
Bob Akins
It was November 2011 and I had just driven over 11 hrs. to look at an abandoned project boat near Merrit Island, Florida. After 4 yrs. of repairing and sailing small boats on freshwater lakes, always with the goal of getting a big boat and "getting out there", I stood looking at what I was sure was my destiny. All through the entire process heretofore experienced I constantly perused all the internet sites for used bluewater boats. Spent endless hrs. on various sailing forums reading other peoples ideas on what constituted a good offshore boat. The different hull designs, ballast and keel configurations, necessary attributes to make reasonable comfort and maximum inherent safety were all studiously picked apart and examined over and over. I hadn't really figured on actually buying a big boat for another 3 or 4 yrs...but I was suddenly convinced that no matter how long I waited this was the one. She was called Salacia, a 35 ft. center cockpit Chris Craft sailboat made in 1964. She had a solid FG constructed deck and hull. A modified full keel w cutaway forefoot and shoal draft of 4'8". Her systems had been almost completely removed by the current owner with the intentions of updating them at some point. That point never arrived for him. He married a girl more interested in motorcycles, so Salacia languished at a dock for over 8 yrs uncared for. She survived 2 hurricanes and numerous lightning strikes during that time. She bore them well. I bought her that day. After 4 months of traveling to her to work on getting her moved closer to home, myself and a motley crew sailed her to St Simons Island, GA where she sits today. I will get to that quite adventurous story soon....
Comments

About & Links