Retirement to Bahamas

Mike and Judy have been sailing for some 25 years. We have dreamed for years about retiring and sailing to the Bahamas and Caribbean. We are living our dream!

05 February 2013 | Riverside Marina
26 March 2012
17 March 2012
15 March 2012
15 March 2012
06 March 2012
04 March 2012
28 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
21 February 2012
21 February 2012
12 February 2012

Judy's Birthday

04 February 2012
You’ve surely heard the old saw, “Any publicity is good publicity”? Well Judy espouses a variation on this theme, “Any attention is good attention”. Judy is a natural actress and loves the spotlight; she was brought up on the stage and loves the spotlight. She’ll take it any way she gets it. And guess what is her favorite day of the year? Yeah, you’ve got it, her birthday. So loves to be pampered and the focus of the day.

I on the other hand find birthdays most disconcerting. They mark another notch in the “Three score years and ten” countdown. Judy can’t understand my, at best, indifference to birthdays and in particular, the discomfort in the recognition of mine. We came to an understanding a few years ago when I told her, “Judy think about how much you love your birthday? That’s how much I detest mine! So we’ve come to an easy understanding of each other’s desires to recognize our natal day.

So from this point on I will ask Judy to recount her “special day” here at Key Biscayne, Florida.....

6 a.m. February 1st.Normally not a morning person I wake up with a smile on my face not only to celebrate my birthday but had a wonderful dream, ”Frolicking in the snow in a beautiful pink snow suit with my soon to be born great niece Jaida Jesso. Her mother, my loving niece Colleen who I adore, asked me recently, “Are you going to spoil my baby as much you did me?” Well of course and more. I am over the moon to welcome this child into our world!

6:30 a.m. As the sun rises over Crandon park Marina, on Key Biscayne, I read my beautiful birthday card from my loving parents. You wonder how did I get mail living on a sailboat? My brother Jerry from New Jersey delivered it in person last week when he joined us for an adventurous three days aboard Sea Sharp.

7:30 a.m. back to bed for a while with my tea and a great read, the last days of JFK junior & Caroline “Fairy Tale Interrupted” Once Mike is up & about I love to curl up and have the aft cabin to my self.

9 ish. Head to shore with Chopin for his morning walk. Not many cruisers in this Marina so all is quiet on the Western front, just the way Chopin likes it. He has now adjusted going to shore in the dinghy in his bed as he really does not like traveling in the kennel. But we have to be careful as we approach the dinghy dock. He’s ready to jump too early. I call Mom (86) & Dad (87) in New Jersey as I have unlimited international on my iPhone How blest am I to still have them in my life!! Their annual tradition; they sing H.B in harmony to me. Had a wonderful chat, many laughs, and with one more tradition we sing together “HOW DO YOU LIKE TO GO UP IN A SWING” I debuted on stage in Gander Nfld elementary school on an actual swing as I sang. I also competed in the Kiwanis music Festival at the age of 8, winning 1st place I might add and performed it later on CBC Radio. You wonder why does my friend Carolyn refer to me as “The Diva” And so my family on each birthday exclaim, “Little Miss Judy Wakeham” from Gander Nfld turns 59, not true!!

Noon: Mike & I hike to Crandon Park beach for a picnic on the beach (wraps, Pringles & cold beer) and bask in the afternoon sun for a couple of hours. Since I retired of my goals is to swim on my birthday as up until 2008 I always celebrated in the coldest month of the year. So swim I did and also enjoyed a solo walk on the beach while Mike guarded our belongings. He was happy reading his kindle! During my walk I encountered with many species of birds along the way thinking what a care free life they have as I share the love the water/sandy beach with them. I see a sand bar ahead as my turn around, stroll out a ways over the ripples, and ponder even though I don’t like the certain ring to 59. How fortunate am I to be here, with a healing happy heart, living our dream to sail into the sunset. I miss home family/friends of course so suffice to say was thrilled as each phone call, e-mail, face book birthday wishes appeared on my iPhone all day long. Once again thank you all so much.

3:30 head back to Sea Sharp for my afternoon nap. Mike always comments, “Judy looks forward to her naps like a hobby!!! LOL I certainly do!

5 p.m. Not wanting to look like a haggard sailor, I doll up for 6 pm. sunset cocktails on Carolyn Gambles favorite stern chair and reservations at “The Rusty Pelican” 2 miles from Marina (We take a short bus ride over the Rickenbacher bridge towards Miami but still on Key Biscayne. A gorgeous evening, we were seated outside to a fireside pit overlooking the spectacular view of Miami skyline. As the waiter serves our drinks/calamari appetizers, I am once again thrilled with 2 simultaneous phone calls from my sister Tricia, NJ and brother Bob, Nfld. Then we move to a white table cloth covered candlelight table & dined on Sea Bass and Stuffed salmon. At $11 a glass of wine I limit myself to two but the ambiance was certainly worth it. And Michael said to me once the bill arrived, “You are worth if Judy”. That’s a keeper!!

I call my “girl” friend Carolyn Gamble from Fredericton and ask “what is the name of this restaurant which she treated Mike & I last year during their visit to Sea Sharp?” of course she knew. Our conversation was the next best thing to having her there with me. While on the phone I was surprised with a cheescake delight & HAPPY BIRTHDYA JUDY written in chocolate on the plate pre planned by my loving husband. Scrumptious! What an evening!

8:45 we catch the bus back to Marina, while walking to bus depot I thank Mike for a wonderful evening, but comment, “I will definitely want some fanfare for my 60th next year”. Already looking forward to that occasion. As I’m writing this entry for the blog, Mike asks “What are doing, writing a novel?. Well he asked me to do this entry!!! I enjoy a coconut rum liqueur upon arrival on Sea Sharp still reading more face book wishes. I head to bed 10ish, (a wee bit later than usual) reminiscing the day’s events with of course a smile on my face.

Feb. 2nd. I wake up a little later than yesterday, my first comment to Mike: “Can we celebrate all over again?”
Comments
Vessel Name: Sea Sharp
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter Legend 37.5
Hailing Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada
Crew: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
About:
Mike will be retiring in September 2008 after a long and rewarding career with the civil service in New Brunswick, Canada. I will end my career as President of Service New Brunswick, the "single window" service delivery agency for multi-jurisdictional government services to citizens and businesses. [...]

Preparing for Retirement Trip

Who: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada