Retirement to Bahamas

Mike and Judy have been sailing for some 25 years. We have dreamed for years about retiring and sailing to the Bahamas and Caribbean. We are living our dream!

05 February 2013 | Riverside Marina
26 March 2012
17 March 2012
15 March 2012
15 March 2012
06 March 2012
04 March 2012
28 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
26 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
25 February 2012
21 February 2012
21 February 2012
12 February 2012

A Very Lumpy Day

13 September 2008
So we finished a wonderful day at Biddeford Pool. We went for a great walk and strolled through the streets which were lined with gracious "cottages" owned by wealthy CRA's (come from away). The gentleman at the Yacht Club described some of the denizens including former presidents, heirs of famous american companies and other blue bloods. We bought a few groceries from the general store, which was closing for the season in a couple of days. While I have no way of knowing, I'd estimate that more than 80 % of the dwellings are seasonal and they more or less shut down labour day.

Bought lobster from the co-op dock at $5.00 per, cooked on Sea Sharp. Judy insists on not being in the cabin when I plunge them into the boiling water and she also insists that I put them in head first so they don't suffer much. She does, however, love to eat them.

A quiet evening with little wind. So we were quite surprised the next morning after we left that the seas were very confused and lumpy. We intended to go to York Village but it was pretty miserable; we couldn't put up the sails to steady the boat as the winds were directly on the nose (you non-boaters should recognize this term I already stated as the direction of the wind directly towards the boat; you cannot sail in this direction). So as conditions worsened we conspired and in accordance with our agreement, if we weren't having fun, we'd duck in somewhere. So we chose Kennebunkport. Yeah, you know the place former President's Bush's summer home. We rock and rolled out way into a very very narrow cut past two large buoys indicating that this was a security zone. Aparrently when the prez is at his place, it is difficult to come in to this place.

Anyway, we had only been underway for about 4 hours but were somewhat beat up and called the first Marina, Chick's Marina. They had dock space and we took it. Well when I went in to settle up, she told me it was $140 ($4.00 per foot) with electricity extra. What could we do? We tied up and had a lovely afternoon.

My first order of business was to figure out how I could pay for my Kindle subscription. Recall from earlier posts that I received an electronic book from dear colleagues at SNB. It works great but in order to download books you need an American credit card; I've got lots of cards, including a Canadian card in US funds but no joy. So I sought out a "pay as you go" card and at long last got one. Back to the boat, Judy and I out to walk. She wanted to visit the Prez's summer home but it started to rain. Anyway this is a very ritzy place.

Back to boat once again, showered, dressed reasonably nice (yeah Judy real nice) and into town or supper (not as if we hadn't spent enough money today), Anyway, found a "fish fry Friday" place and had a great meal. Back to boat, me reading my first Kindle book. I have a series of authors I read like Carl Hiassen, James W Hall, Elmore Leonard, William Shames, etc. They are mostly zany books about the seedy side of Florida life. Anyway, loaded the most recent James W Hall (in less than a minute and at (9.99). Janet, and SNBers, I love my Kindle.

So up early but have a leisurely morning getting ready for a long day. See next post.......
Comments
Vessel Name: Sea Sharp
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter Legend 37.5
Hailing Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada
Crew: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
About:
Mike will be retiring in September 2008 after a long and rewarding career with the civil service in New Brunswick, Canada. I will end my career as President of Service New Brunswick, the "single window" service delivery agency for multi-jurisdictional government services to citizens and businesses. [...]

Preparing for Retirement Trip

Who: Mike, Judy and Chopin (the boat cat)
Port: Douglas Harbour, NB, Canada