The Trip to Kauai!

Start of day #3

21 June 2010
Second Verse 06210800 35 29N 123 34W DTF: 1942 COG: 220T SOG: 5.6

Yesterday was there was a lot of wind and big seas. In fact, for two hours there it was 34 kts sustaining with gusts to 38! The seas were above my second spreader! I have to admit for those two hours I wished I were somewhere else. Better now.

One of the blades of the wind generator ripped off! Gone! Well, there goes that power source, I will bring a spare set next time.

I have all this great food but I really have not eaten yet, just one apple and some jerky. I�'ll try to force some food down today.

A tanker crossed my path last night when I was asleep. I called him up on VHF and asked if he ever saw me, nope! Oh well, no reason to worry about that now.

Once these seas calm down I�'ll begin to tidy up, it is a mess in here! BTW, sleeping on the floor is not that bad, I got a full hour at one point last night, real good sleep, and I dreamed I was taking a hike with the kids.

Second Verse, signing off and searching for the sun and calm seas.

This e-mail was delivered via satellite phone using OCENS.Mail software. Please be kind and keep your replies short.
Vessel Name: Second Verse
Vessel Make/Model: Cascade 36
Hailing Port: Coyote Point, CA
Crew: AJ Goldman
About: Father of Kelsey and Dylan
Second Verse's Photos - Main
5 Photos
Created 3 June 2010