The Trip to Kauai!

Skippers Log, 7/8/10

08 July 2010
Today was a big day, for the first time I can pick up weather forecasts on my VHF radio from Hawaii! I couldn�'t hear it too clearly, but they mentioned something about the Big Island! Glory, glory days! There is land out there. I am bending all my sails trying to make landfall on Saturday night. The wind is good now and should only freshen through Saturday. My drink order for the finish is a Mai Tai and I�'m racing for the Mai Tai! Make mine a double please.

I had a visitor today; a bird (not sure what type) kept circling the boat and every so often would land on my radar arch and take a poop on my deck. Come on, the big blue ocean and you have to poop on my deck! Maybe I was in his territory and he did not like it. Oh well, a few buckets of water cleaned it up.

Southeraire is half a day ahead and will make his landing about noon on Saturday. Blue Moon and I are about equal and going for it with full effort. It�'s just us three left and we talk twice a day via SSB. We have certainly become brothers out here, though we are all alone. I wish them all my best.

I�'ve listened to all my music twice and now I�'m on to show tunes. Tonight�'s music is the soundtrack of Wicked. My daughter and I saw the performance in San Francisco, just awesome!

Wind, wind, bring us home!

Second Verse, signing off.
Vessel Name: Second Verse
Vessel Make/Model: Cascade 36
Hailing Port: Coyote Point, CA
Crew: AJ Goldman
About: Father of Kelsey and Dylan
Second Verse's Photos - Main
5 Photos
Created 3 June 2010