28 June 2011 | Puorto Quetzal, Guatemala
21 June 2011
19 April 2011 | Vancouver Airport
11 November 2010 | Marios Marina

Guatemala to Colon Panama

15 May 2011
Rob
Had an incredible sail from Rio Dulce Guatemala to Roatan Honduras. Then once I left Roatan Island, I reached all the way to Vivarillo before I had to tack for the first time. Then 3 hours later I tacked once more and broad reached right to the breakwater at the entrance to Colon. I adjusted coarse by 10 degrees to bypass Providentia, then adjusted it back and was right back on coarse. About 3 days into the trip I started the engine to charge batteries fully and the fresh water pump went. No worries, I was sailing anyway.
Once I arrived at the breakwater into Colon, I sailed by, gybed through the breakwater and sailed right up to the dock at Shelter Bay Marina.
I had a great solo sail, great wind, great weather and awesome sights.
Click on this link to see my track.
follow me
Now I am trying to locate my part while waiting to be measured for the canal.
None of my pictures turned out very well at all, sorry.
Comments
Vessel Name: Shibumi
Vessel Make/Model: Columbia 36
Hailing Port: Comox, BC, Canada
Crew: Rob McCallum, & my dog Abbi
About:
Captain Rob...Didn't plan it but recently found myself single handling with my faithful companion Abbi. I don't really care if I am on a long offshore voyage or just harbor hopping, as long as I am sailing. I live aboard and just plain love the life style. Abbi... [...]
Extra: Shibumi is a Japanese word, roughly translated means simple, unobtrusive beauty.
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/shibumi/

Shibumi's Crew

Who: Rob McCallum, & my dog Abbi
Port: Comox, BC, Canada
The INTERVIEW WITH A CRUISER Project
CURRENT MOON
Website counter