S/V Si Bon

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California
21 May 2013 | San Diego
05 May 2013 | San Diego
19 April 2013 | Sun Harbor Marina, San Diego, Ca. USA
17 April 2013 | Ensenada to San Diego
08 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
06 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
03 April 2013 | Marina Coral, Ensenada, Baja California
29 March 2013 | Ensenada
25 March 2013 | Bahia Tortuga, Baja California
21 March 2013 | Punta Abreojos
12 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
10 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
06 March 2013 | Nuevo Vallarta
28 February 2013 | Paradise Village, Nuevo Vallarta mexico
26 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
04 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
23 December 2012 | Barra de Navidad
19 December 2012 | success and failure
17 December 2012 | Ixtapa to Manzanillo

Max Prop and the mooring ball

23 February 2011 | San Diego, California
Steve
Yesterday my Max-Prop went back on Si Bon, taking the VERY high tech prop off with Si Bon in the water was one thing, putting the intricate prop back on was another, it didn't help that my diver Alex had injured his hand last week and was limited in his ability to work with the very small pins and screws needed to hold it all together. Once the prop was back on my crew member Peter (pic) and I did a little testing, with Si Bon tied tightly to the dock I put the boat in forward and reverse several times to make sure everything was working, we then untied the dock lines and headed out into the bay towards the mooring field to strip my mooring line off the ball.
Once we arrived at the ball we were treated to a very tightly wrapped mooring line of which the two of us struggled with for close to an hour to free up and remove my expensive shackles and line. I made the decision over the weekend that I would finish my time in San Diego here at the marina, it was kinda sad to be leaving the ball for the last time, I have many great memories and lessons from my time spent on my ball.
My sadness didn't last long as we had about 10 knots of wind, we put up the sails and with Peter at the helm for the first time on Si Bon, we glided up the bay doing about 6 knots towards Sun Harbor Marina....our home for the next week.....or so.
Comments
Vessel Name: Si Bon
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 411
Hailing Port: San Diego, California
Crew: Steve Cook
About:
This is the plan.....In late 2009 after going on a wonderful charter to Turkey and Greece and seeing and living the cruiser lifestyle I decided to move into the next phase of my life. [...]
Extra: I am currently in Banderas Bay (Puerto Vallarta area), where I will be spending the 2012 hurricane season at the beautiful Paradise Village Marina.

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California