S/V Si Bon

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California
21 May 2013 | San Diego
05 May 2013 | San Diego
19 April 2013 | Sun Harbor Marina, San Diego, Ca. USA
17 April 2013 | Ensenada to San Diego
08 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
06 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
03 April 2013 | Marina Coral, Ensenada, Baja California
29 March 2013 | Ensenada
25 March 2013 | Bahia Tortuga, Baja California
21 March 2013 | Punta Abreojos
12 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
10 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
06 March 2013 | Nuevo Vallarta
28 February 2013 | Paradise Village, Nuevo Vallarta mexico
26 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
04 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
23 December 2012 | Barra de Navidad
19 December 2012 | success and failure
17 December 2012 | Ixtapa to Manzanillo

San Jose Del Cabo

16 March 2011 | San Jose Del Cabo (duh)
Steve, Sunny warm days..cool nights
So yesterday we all took a little break from each other, Peter went to the beach for a swim, Catherine went to the marina work area to catch up on her art orders and I decided to walk the 1.5 miles into the town of San Jose Del Cabo and try to get a haircut. I made a wrong turn and ended up on an isolated dirt road, but could tell I was headed in the right direction, just on the wrong road. I got into downtown San Jose and soon realized that the towns festival was getting ready to start (more on that later), I cruised around town getting the lay of the land and asking around in my almost nonexistent spanish for a barber shop. I finally found a kinda seedy hair salon where they spoke no english, but using my fingers as a imaginary pair of scissors conveyed that I wanted a haircut and wanted it VERY short, it all worked out and it was kinda nice not to have to try to come up with small talk while she cut my hair.
I decided that I would take the dirt road back to the marina as I hate walking on busy streets and the dirt road was a nice, although isolated walk, so off I went crossing a small stream picking up an old piece of bamboo that was laying in the road to use in case I came across any stray dogs along the way. About half way back two guys came into view walking towards me, as they approached me one of the dudes, a kinda rough, mean looking guy, starts yelling at me in spanish, I myself able to yell with the best of them yell back "NO HABLO ESPANOL", I then drop into a batters stance using the old piece of bamboo as an imaginary bat, homey immediately goes into a pitchers stance, he winds up and throws me an imaginary pitch...a fast ball no less, I take a swing, make contact with the imaginary ball and raise my hand over my eyes to watch it sail out of the park, we both look at each other and start cracking up, I turn and continue along my way and he does the same.
The moral of the story is with a little imagination and some humor, you can get through many situations.
My friend Dan on Dazzler just pulled in coming from Puerto Vallarta as I've been writing this so we'll be catching up later over a few brewski's...adios for now.
Comments
Vessel Name: Si Bon
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 411
Hailing Port: San Diego, California
Crew: Steve Cook
About:
This is the plan.....In late 2009 after going on a wonderful charter to Turkey and Greece and seeing and living the cruiser lifestyle I decided to move into the next phase of my life. [...]
Extra: I am currently in Banderas Bay (Puerto Vallarta area), where I will be spending the 2012 hurricane season at the beautiful Paradise Village Marina.

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California