S/V Si Bon

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California
21 May 2013 | San Diego
05 May 2013 | San Diego
19 April 2013 | Sun Harbor Marina, San Diego, Ca. USA
17 April 2013 | Ensenada to San Diego
08 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
06 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
03 April 2013 | Marina Coral, Ensenada, Baja California
29 March 2013 | Ensenada
25 March 2013 | Bahia Tortuga, Baja California
21 March 2013 | Punta Abreojos
12 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
10 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
06 March 2013 | Nuevo Vallarta
28 February 2013 | Paradise Village, Nuevo Vallarta mexico
26 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
04 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
23 December 2012 | Barra de Navidad
19 December 2012 | success and failure
17 December 2012 | Ixtapa to Manzanillo

Saying goodbye

19 July 2011 | Tucson, Az. USA
Steve
Yesterday I left San Carlos and returned to the US on a Tufesa autobus. It was a VERY emotional day for me. To be leaving Si Bon in a foreign country for at least two months in order to escape the summertime heat of the Sea of Cortez was difficult. I am REALLY happy to be visiting both my Uncle Ross and his Wife Carol in Maryland and Shaybo and her family in Vermont and then going to San Diego to see the kids and my friends...but it was still difficult. Although it is unlikely that San Carlos would get hit by a major hurricane...it is possible and in fact did get hit pretty good in 2009. I have been busy the past two weeks preparing for a hurricane...just in case. I removed my roller furling jib, I cleaned, deflated, rolled up and stowed away the dinghy and I have removed most of the jerry jugs and other items from the deck of Si Bon. The last hurricane preparation was to tie Si Bon to the dock like she's never been tied before. I spent over an hour Sunday night doing a job that usually takes me 5 minutes to do. I have doubled up all of the dock lines, attached my 3/4 inch mooring line to port bow, attached spring lines bow and stern with special chafing protection and secured three dock fenders to each side of Si Bon. I've tugged, pushed and pulled on Si Bon trying to simulate what would happen in a tropical storm or....God forbid a hurricane and I feel comfortable that she will be fine.
I made a decision to hire a local guy by the name of Carlos (pic) to watch over and maintain Si Bon while I'm gone. Carlos in a REALLY hard core sailor and Scuba guy. Carlos is an ASA certified Sailing instructor and a Dive Master, he reminds me a lot of my friend in San Diego, Robert Svoboda. Carlos and I struck up a friendship pretty much as soon as I arrived in San Carlos when he told he I did a good job docking Si Bon singlehanded. Carlos takes care of several other boats full-time in the marina. Along with cleaning Si Bon's bottom and washing off her deck occasionally, he will also be checking dock lines and starting up the main engine and generator once or twice. Leaving Si Bon yesterday was not easy but having Carlos to keep an eye on things while I'm gone makes me feel better.
Comments
Vessel Name: Si Bon
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 411
Hailing Port: San Diego, California
Crew: Steve Cook
About:
This is the plan.....In late 2009 after going on a wonderful charter to Turkey and Greece and seeing and living the cruiser lifestyle I decided to move into the next phase of my life. [...]
Extra: I am currently in Banderas Bay (Puerto Vallarta area), where I will be spending the 2012 hurricane season at the beautiful Paradise Village Marina.

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California