S/V Si Bon

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California
21 May 2013 | San Diego
05 May 2013 | San Diego
19 April 2013 | Sun Harbor Marina, San Diego, Ca. USA
17 April 2013 | Ensenada to San Diego
08 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
06 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
03 April 2013 | Marina Coral, Ensenada, Baja California
29 March 2013 | Ensenada
25 March 2013 | Bahia Tortuga, Baja California
21 March 2013 | Punta Abreojos
12 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
10 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
06 March 2013 | Nuevo Vallarta
28 February 2013 | Paradise Village, Nuevo Vallarta mexico
26 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
04 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
23 December 2012 | Barra de Navidad
19 December 2012 | success and failure
17 December 2012 | Ixtapa to Manzanillo

Mexican dentist

09 December 2011 | Mazatlan
Steve
Over the past few years I have been gathering information on different peoples opinions regarding the Mexican health care system. Most all of the reports that I have read have been very positive and yesterday was our turn to find out just what to expect from the Mexican health care system. Sharon was VERY uncomfortable going to any dentist other than the one she had been going to in San Diego, this included ANY other dentist, even other dentists in the U.S.. We were both overdue for our routine cleaning and Sharon had a filling that she was concerned about, so after receiving a referral from another cruiser we set up an appointment (online) and yesterday we made our way to Dr. Cesar Gavito's office. Sharon went in first and I waited with baited breath (no pun intended) hoping that when she came out she wouldn't have a look of horror on her face.....she didn't. I was next up and as Dr. Gavito (pic) began cleaning and inspecting my teeth he would occasionally ask me questions about past dental work I had had done. Dr. Gavito found a small cavity which he showed me with a mirror and told me that I probably didn't need to do anything about it now, but to be aware of it for the next time I go to the dentist.
Overall the whole dentist experience was a positive one, the small office was clean and professional, we did not have to wait for the doctor or fill out 3 million forms, we didn't read any disclosures or sign any arbitration agreements. The costs for our cleaning was 500 pasos, which is around $40.00 USD, I just looked up my last payment for the same appointment in San Diego and it was $190.00 USD. I decided to set another appointment to take care of the small cavity and Dr Gavito gave me a written estimate of 900 pasos....which is around $75.00 USD.
Ohhh...and two final thoughts. Although he does have an assistant, Dr Gavito did all of the cleaning and inspecting himself and Sharon came away saying how comfortable she now was with Dr. Gavito....I wonder if that has anything to do with his strikingly handsome looks?????
Comments
Vessel Name: Si Bon
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 411
Hailing Port: San Diego, California
Crew: Steve Cook
About:
This is the plan.....In late 2009 after going on a wonderful charter to Turkey and Greece and seeing and living the cruiser lifestyle I decided to move into the next phase of my life. [...]
Extra: I am currently in Banderas Bay (Puerto Vallarta area), where I will be spending the 2012 hurricane season at the beautiful Paradise Village Marina.

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California