S/V Si Bon

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California
21 May 2013 | San Diego
05 May 2013 | San Diego
19 April 2013 | Sun Harbor Marina, San Diego, Ca. USA
17 April 2013 | Ensenada to San Diego
08 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
06 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
03 April 2013 | Marina Coral, Ensenada, Baja California
29 March 2013 | Ensenada
25 March 2013 | Bahia Tortuga, Baja California
21 March 2013 | Punta Abreojos
12 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
10 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
06 March 2013 | Nuevo Vallarta
28 February 2013 | Paradise Village, Nuevo Vallarta mexico
26 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
04 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
23 December 2012 | Barra de Navidad
19 December 2012 | success and failure
17 December 2012 | Ixtapa to Manzanillo

Rough life

28 February 2012 | Paradise Village Marina
Steve
A year ago at this time, just before leaving San Diego, I would have thought that right now I would be anchored in a muddy estuary somewhere. I would have thought I would be taking solar showers, catching fish I had caught for dinner and supplementing my meals out of cans. I would be sitting in the dark conserving electricity and water and I'd be completely out of touch other than by way of a SSB or VHF radio. Yes...life should've been pretty difficult by now. Not exactly the way it turned out. We are currently at Paradise Village Marina (PVM)....voted the top marina in Mexico, and one of the top 100 Mega marinas in the world. I am writing this blog from the free internet at the Vallarta Yacht Club, of which PVM provided us with a 2 week free membership. Before coming over to the Yacht Club we showered in the very clean and very hot marina showers. This morning Sharon took a free water aerobics class in one of the 4 pools in the resort.....of which we are able to use. Along with their 4 pools, Paradise Village Resort also has 8 restaurants, two spas a private beach and get this....a zoo, all of which we are also able to take advantage of. Next door to the resort, about a 500 foot walk from Si Bon, is a mini mall which among other things has a Subway (had a 2.00 sub for lunch today), a Dominio's Pizza (maybe dinner),and a McDonald's.
The Marina does sit in what was once probably a muddy estuary (pic from our stern)....so I guess things aren't completely off of what I thought they'd be a year ago. Gotta go my 1.00 pacifico is almost gone and I need to order another...adios for now
Comments
Vessel Name: Si Bon
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 411
Hailing Port: San Diego, California
Crew: Steve Cook
About:
This is the plan.....In late 2009 after going on a wonderful charter to Turkey and Greece and seeing and living the cruiser lifestyle I decided to move into the next phase of my life. [...]
Extra: I am currently in Banderas Bay (Puerto Vallarta area), where I will be spending the 2012 hurricane season at the beautiful Paradise Village Marina.

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California