S/V Si Bon

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California
21 May 2013 | San Diego
05 May 2013 | San Diego
19 April 2013 | Sun Harbor Marina, San Diego, Ca. USA
17 April 2013 | Ensenada to San Diego
08 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
06 April 2013 | San Diego (by land)
03 April 2013 | Marina Coral, Ensenada, Baja California
29 March 2013 | Ensenada
25 March 2013 | Bahia Tortuga, Baja California
21 March 2013 | Punta Abreojos
12 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
10 March 2013 | San Jose Cabo
06 March 2013 | Nuevo Vallarta
28 February 2013 | Paradise Village, Nuevo Vallarta mexico
26 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
04 January 2013 | La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
23 December 2012 | Barra de Navidad
19 December 2012 | success and failure
17 December 2012 | Ixtapa to Manzanillo

WOW...what an adventure!

19 April 2013 | Sun Harbor Marina, San Diego, Ca. USA
Steve
WOW...what an adventure I've had! As I'm settling back into life in SoCal my mind often wanders back over the past two years. I've definitely learned a lot about a lot of things. I've traveled over 4,000 NM, been in 13 different marinas, somewhere around 40 different anchorages and met hundreds of interesting people.....some more than others. All while traveling on a 42 foot sailboat. I've somehow managed to avoid any horror stories, which I know makes for dull blog posts. Si Bon has handled the challenge of her second Mexico cruise with a stellar performance. Together we managed to have no major systems fail. Sure there were plenty of times that I had make repairs underway, or to jury rig something to get by....but no major issues. There were also plenty of times I said a prayer to the man upstairs thanking him one thing or another.
So....where do I go from here? Well, I never did get to Panama, so thats still out there. One reason I didn't get to panama was because I over estimated the ease of picking up crew members. I have realized that after cruising both with a partner and without a partner, that it is much more enjoyable to be with someone whom you care about and have a relationship with. The best times for me were the 10 months or so that Sharon and I cruised together.....thanks Shaybo! Because of this I would likely want to be involved with someone before heading out again.
In the mean time I'm settling into my new digs quite well. I love being back to beautiful San Diego. Today it's predicted to be in the 80's and there's not a cloud in the sky. Sun Harbor Marina is a great place to live, and my slip A-18, is a perfect location. The picture is taken from Si Bon's stern. I do plan or continuing my adventures in SoCal and possibly northern Baja, there are a lot of beautiful cruising grounds within 100 miles of San Diego...and I want to explore more of them.
I haven't really decided what to do about the blog. As I said earlier, I'm not going to keep writing it forever, but at this time I can't bring myself to terminating it. I kind of use my blog as a journal of sorts, and it seems that I may have a couple more things to put in the journal before closing it....we'll see.

Comments
Vessel Name: Si Bon
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 411
Hailing Port: San Diego, California
Crew: Steve Cook
About:
This is the plan.....In late 2009 after going on a wonderful charter to Turkey and Greece and seeing and living the cruiser lifestyle I decided to move into the next phase of my life. [...]
Extra: I am currently in Banderas Bay (Puerto Vallarta area), where I will be spending the 2012 hurricane season at the beautiful Paradise Village Marina.

Who: Steve Cook
Port: San Diego, California