s/v Song of the South

The Edge family is gone with the wind. We can't bring you all with us, but we can share our adventures with you as we slip our lines and explore unknown waters.

21 June 2018 | Annapolis, MD
17 June 2018 | Annapolis, MD
16 June 2018 | Solomons Island, MD
15 June 2018 | Cape Charles VA
13 June 2018 | Cape Charles VA
12 June 2018 | Tidewater Marina
11 June 2018
07 June 2018 | Coinjock Marina
06 June 2018 | Alligator River Marina
29 May 2018 | Dowry Creek Marina, Belhaven NC
27 May 2018 | Neuse River at Wilkinson Point, by Camp Seagull
26 May 2018 | Wayfarer's Cove Marina, Minnesott Beach NC
25 August 2011 | Melville, RI
22 August 2011 | Newport, RI
20 August 2011 | Sandwich, MA
19 August 2011 | Annisquam, MA
18 August 2011 | Portland, ME
17 August 2011 | Rockland, ME
16 August 2011 | Rockland, ME

Monty Row Your Boat Ashore, Halleluja

16 August 2011 | Rockland, ME
Cap'n Monty
I awoke this morning, and it was still raining. The breeze has died some but it was still fresh. I began the day knocking out a small project that I have been meaning to do for awhile now. I needed to install a 12v extension circuit for use with the 12v HP air pump. The Dixie needs to be re-inflated with some frequency and this extension circuit will make the job easier to do with one person. I had the necessary parts and I installed the circuit in a temporary fashion. I will install it in a more permanent fashion later now that I know it all works. I was now able to bring the HP air pump aboard the dinghy as she is tied aft and re-inflate all the air bladders. Once this was done, it was time to go ashore.

I needed to go ashore to shower, to obtain provisions using the rental car, to return the rental car, and to make arrangements with the marina for dockage so that I could take on water and make final preparations. I elected to row ashore, rather than to install the 15hp motor for only one day. It was about ¾ mile to the marina and it doesn’t take long because the Dixie rows pretty well for an inflatable boat. It was still raining of course, but that didn’t stop me from showering, buying groceries, and rowing them back out to the Song to put them away.

After all was stowed away, I called the marina to see if I could bring the Song in for water and one nights dockage. They didn’t have any dock space available because everyone was taking shelter during the crappy weather, but they thought that they might have some later. What did this mean for the good Captain? 1.5 miles of additional rowing, that’s what. So I rowed ashore to take the rental car back to Enterprise and have them drive me back to the marina, where I rowed back out to the Song to prepare her for docking.

When you’re single-handing, you have to have your act together before docking in order to increase the chances that all goes well. I elected to use a nifty little trick that was told to me by a Single-handing South African Charter Captain that I met in Padanaram, MA. It involves lashing a boat hook off the bow rail in order to extend a bow line to a waiting dock hand. Since there is no crew to stand on the bow and toss the line, the extended boat hook holds the line way out so that the dock hand can grab it and control the bow into the slip. If it collides with anything, there is no damage as the hook is made of light aluminum and will simply bend or break off. The trick worked like a charm and soon the Song was made fast in the slip. Now I could get to work making all final preparations for getting underway.

I took on 175gal of water, hosed off floor mats, hosed out the cockpit, dried & stowed canvas covers, prepared rigging, cleaned the sole, and generally secured the interior of the boat. After all was laid along, I walked into town to grab a bite to eat. If you like an interesting and exciting menu, and a cook that can pull it off, then I highly recommend Miranda’s Café. During dinner, I called some friends back in NC and was able to secure some crew for my longer legs. My current plan is to proceed to NYC and meet my crew there. They will help me sail from NYC back home. After dinner, I returned to the Song and listened to audio books until I nodded off the sleep. I planned to wake at 0430 to get an early start on the leg to Portland.

Cap’n Monty
s/v Song Of The South
Berthed in Rockland, ME
Comments
Vessel Name: Song of the South
Vessel Make/Model: Caliber 40 LRC
Hailing Port: Minnesott Beach, NC
Crew: Monty Edge, Amy Edge, Hunter Edge, Austin Edge, Lauren Krause
About: s/v Song of the South crew... Monty Edge (Cap'n), Amy Edge (Admiral), Hunter Edge (Purser), and Austin Edge (1st Mate/Coxswain). Lauren Krause (Midship Girl)
Extra: We have stepped away from cruising for many years now as life took different paths. We plan a return to the wind & water this year as we embark on a cruise into the Chesapeake Bay. We're back!
Song of the South's Photos - Main
2 Week Journey into Chesapeake Bay
No Photos
Created 8 June 2018
This is the third of three albums of our New England Voyage pics.
3 Photos
Created 5 August 2011
More pictures of our voyage to Maine in 2011
101 Photos
Created 11 July 2011
Photos from our voyage to Maine
120 Photos
Created 27 June 2011
These are photos from the Edge's Chesapeake Bay cruise in the summer of 2010
71 Photos
Created 16 June 2010
Monty & Amy sailed the Song of the South to Annapolis, MD for the US Sail Boat Show.
63 Photos
Created 6 October 2009
Photos from our week long trip to Cape Lookout in 2009. This is an annual event for the Edges.
16 Photos
Created 6 October 2009
These are pics from our 2009 summer cruise of North Carolina waters.
62 Photos
Created 25 June 2009
We installed several upgrades into the Song of the South over the winter.
No Photos
Created 10 June 2009
Photos from the Christening ceremony for Song of the South at Minnesott Beach, NC.
20 Photos
Created 27 May 2009
Photos from our first time anchoring out for the weekend in Oriental.
9 Photos
Created 27 May 2009
Photos of our first voyage to Cape Lookout. We spent (10) on the voayge, with time spend at Cape Lookout an in Beaufort Harbor. We had many friends come and visit us while we were at the Cape.
51 Photos
Created 27 May 2009
Photos from our first voyage in the Song, to the Bay River where we spent Memorial Weekend anchored with friends in thier 34' Catalina - ReJoySeaing
26 Photos
Created 27 May 2009
Photos of Song of the South under construction at Caliber Yachts and at roll out.
5 Photos
Created 27 May 2009