s/v Song of the South

The Edge family is gone with the wind. We can't bring you all with us, but we can share our adventures with you as we slip our lines and explore unknown waters.

21 June 2018 | Annapolis, MD
17 June 2018 | Annapolis, MD
16 June 2018 | Solomons Island, MD
15 June 2018 | Cape Charles VA
13 June 2018 | Cape Charles VA
12 June 2018 | Tidewater Marina
11 June 2018
07 June 2018 | Coinjock Marina
06 June 2018 | Alligator River Marina
29 May 2018 | Dowry Creek Marina, Belhaven NC
27 May 2018 | Neuse River at Wilkinson Point, by Camp Seagull
26 May 2018 | Wayfarer's Cove Marina, Minnesott Beach NC
25 August 2011 | Melville, RI
22 August 2011 | Newport, RI
20 August 2011 | Sandwich, MA
19 August 2011 | Annisquam, MA
18 August 2011 | Portland, ME
17 August 2011 | Rockland, ME
16 August 2011 | Rockland, ME

Setting Sail, Southbound & Solo

17 August 2011 | Rockland, ME
Cap'n Monty
As predicted that alarm clock went off about 5 minutes after my head hit the pillow, or so it seemed. I jumped up and began the process of getting underway. Clothes on, coffee on, woof a quick bite, secure below decks, check the oil, warm up the engine, and cast off the lines. The departure from the dock went well and soon I was slipping through the slick waters of the harbor in the dark. I slipped by the Coast Guard boats, through the mooring field, and into the harbor fairway. It was cool, but the starry sky promised to turn blue later in the morning. I throttled the Song up and began the journey to Portland.

As I passed the light house at Owls head, it was easy to see in the dark where the point got it's name. It was still dark, but the moonlight reflected off the glossy wavelets and the breeze blew in that familiar salty and sea-weedy smell. Just as I rounded Owls head I could began to sense the ocean swell and I knew that if I could see far enough, I could see England that way. Upon making my turn into the Muscle Ridge Archipelago, I managed to turn and witness the first flash of orange as the sun crested the horizon over my stern. The photo in this blog update shows the sun rising over Fisherman's Island.

Navigating the "lobstah pots" in Muscle Ridge was easy compared to my last passage there, as many of the pots have been moved to deeper waters now. I snaked between the rocks and shoals of Fisherman's Passage as the blazing orange sun came into full view. Orange sun, blue sky, khaki rocks, green islands, and clear water - I'm really gonna miss this place. Soon I emerged from Muscle Ridge and into open water. The breeze blew plenty fresh and I hoisted all plain sail. I easily made 7kts on my course and it was on now.

The sailing was sweet for a few hours, then the wind slackened and I was forced to motor-sail in order to keep on schedule. I got good news, in that Tim & Kathy of s/v Carina did not depart Portland and I would get to see them there tonight. Tim invited me to join him in a sail race this evening, which I will do if time permits. I sailed on and I just found myself off Damariscove Island. I can use the present tense because you are now getting this real time! I engineered a method to put my PC under the dodger while I sit behind it. I can now con the boat and update my blog underway - how kewl! It took all my restraint not to pull in and drop the hook at Damariscove, because we definitely left money on the table there. We stayed there for a night, but we never went ashore. We missed some really cool hiking, scenery, and berry picking there. I guess we'll have to catch that next time.

I have been texting and emailing with Tim to determine where I will stay in Portland tonight. I don't want to go back to DiMillo's because they are expensive and hard to get into. My current plan is to anchor east of Portland's harbor entrance and to dinghy where I need to go. Tim said I could land my dinghy at his boat in DiMillo's since his is not there. I guess that means more rowing for the Captain. No worries, at least I can work off this extra gut I've acquired during this recent voyage.

I sailed into Portland about 1630. I was too late to get in on the race, but that was okay because I was totally beat. Waking up at 0400 and sailing all day took it out of me. After I anchored east of the port, the windlass broke and I had to repair it. I managed to jury rig it and will need to obtain a replacement part for it when I can. I then put the 15hp motor on the dinghy after looking at the distance I would have to row against the current. After that I took a shower aboard and I felt a lot better. I cleaned up, grabbed a few cold beers, and boarded the Dixie to find Tim and Kathy. They were just finishing the race and I met them at the Centerboard Yacht Club. I ferried their crew to shore with the Dixie and we had dinner and beer at the club as if I was on the crew. Rod Collins from s/v Cupecoy was there too and it was great to see them all again. After dinner I crossed the harbor in the dark aboard the Dixie and ended up sitting here now, updating today's blog.

It was an active day and I was able to knock out 60 miles from the 900 or so that I have to travel. Tomorrow I plan to lay over in Portland as the forecast calls for 20kt winds right on the nose. I don't mind the windy weather, but it really sucks when you have to go directly into it. Friday's forecast is somewhat better and that will give me chance to see Tim and Kathy one more time before I depart. I won't likely see them again for at least two years, as we don't currently have plans to return here next year. One thing I know for sure is that we will definitely return as soon as we can.

Cap'n Monty
s/v Song Of The South
At anchor in Portland, ME
Comments
Vessel Name: Song of the South
Vessel Make/Model: Caliber 40 LRC
Hailing Port: Minnesott Beach, NC
Crew: Monty Edge, Amy Edge, Hunter Edge, Austin Edge, Lauren Krause
About: s/v Song of the South crew... Monty Edge (Cap'n), Amy Edge (Admiral), Hunter Edge (Purser), and Austin Edge (1st Mate/Coxswain). Lauren Krause (Midship Girl)
Extra: We have stepped away from cruising for many years now as life took different paths. We plan a return to the wind & water this year as we embark on a cruise into the Chesapeake Bay. We're back!
Song of the South's Photos - Main
2 Week Journey into Chesapeake Bay
No Photos
Created 8 June 2018
This is the third of three albums of our New England Voyage pics.
3 Photos
Created 5 August 2011
More pictures of our voyage to Maine in 2011
101 Photos
Created 11 July 2011
Photos from our voyage to Maine
120 Photos
Created 27 June 2011
These are photos from the Edge's Chesapeake Bay cruise in the summer of 2010
71 Photos
Created 16 June 2010
Monty & Amy sailed the Song of the South to Annapolis, MD for the US Sail Boat Show.
63 Photos
Created 6 October 2009
Photos from our week long trip to Cape Lookout in 2009. This is an annual event for the Edges.
16 Photos
Created 6 October 2009
These are pics from our 2009 summer cruise of North Carolina waters.
62 Photos
Created 25 June 2009
We installed several upgrades into the Song of the South over the winter.
No Photos
Created 10 June 2009
Photos from the Christening ceremony for Song of the South at Minnesott Beach, NC.
20 Photos
Created 27 May 2009
Photos from our first time anchoring out for the weekend in Oriental.
9 Photos
Created 27 May 2009
Photos of our first voyage to Cape Lookout. We spent (10) on the voayge, with time spend at Cape Lookout an in Beaufort Harbor. We had many friends come and visit us while we were at the Cape.
51 Photos
Created 27 May 2009
Photos from our first voyage in the Song, to the Bay River where we spent Memorial Weekend anchored with friends in thier 34' Catalina - ReJoySeaing
26 Photos
Created 27 May 2009
Photos of Song of the South under construction at Caliber Yachts and at roll out.
5 Photos
Created 27 May 2009