Sailing With Sora

Terry and Karen circumnavigating the globe currently in Phuket, Thailand. Will remain in the area for a refit and some road trips around Asia for a year or so.

09 December 2010
02 March 2009 | Phuket
02 March 2009 | `Phuket
23 February 2009 | Andaman Sea
19 February 2009 | Bangkok
06 February 2009 | Thailand
24 December 2008 | Langkawi, Malaysia
09 December 2008 | Penang
06 December 2008 | Penang
02 December 2008 | Penang
29 November 2008 | Kuhla Lumpur
25 November 2008 | The Straits of Melaka
15 November 2008 | Johor Bahru
02 November 2008 | Singapore
17 October 2008 | Kumai
10 October 2008 | Borneo (Kalimantan)
09 October 2008 | Borneo
03 October 2008 | Kangean
28 September 2008 | Return to Lovina
28 September 2008 | Cruise to Lombok

Triple Digits

27 April 2007
Cass
The seas and winds have calmed. We've got 10-15kn out of the E SE and we're bobbing along at 6.5-8.5kn. I have random bruises from being slammed into tables, stairs, and walls. Not that it's an unpleasant ride, just a different environment to function in. I tried to make soup and got more on the galley counter than in the bowl. You can't set anything down with out it being on the other side of the cabin in less than 10 seconds. I am writing this at the nav table, but have my coffee wedged in a corner on the floor to avoid a nasty spill. I was doing push ups yester day and felt like I had a fat man on my back.

Oh ya, I was so excited about surfing that I neglected to mention that the day before yesterday was our first 200 mile day! Momentous. This morning we broke the thousand mile mark. Just ticking those miles away. And to tell you the truth, I feel like we just left. We're anticipating landfall sometime on Wednesday, May 2nd.

We've had a couple of afternoon bites but no catch. Water, water everywhere and nary a fish to eat.

I'd like to close with some responses to IM's:

Iso- So close, yet so far away. You coming or what? Nick- Thank you for the fair winds. Ken and Lori- Nice to hear from you again. Thanks for the updates. Jason- Well rounded, you really think so? Nah... Shelly- We have great pictures of the Pensacola crew in the Galapagos. Will send you copies. Lee- Small world, right? Jerry- Nothin' like a moon wax! The upload takes about 2 min and we're on an iridium sat phone. Dan- Glad you like the pictures. Was hoping this camera was on the fritz. Desperately trying to get a new underwater one for my birthday. Then we could leave it under a leaky hatch and not worry about it. Mike- My attitude varies with my surroundings and the captain's moods. It's been easy to be positive lately. Cheers ;-) Jeff- Nice to see your name again. Every girl needs an OK fan. Yoko- My SA queen Have a martini on me and love to Melissa, the best bartender ever. Mom- Keep 'em coming. I could never forget about you I was talking about my other land-based relationships.

Hope everyone has an awesome weekend!

Cheers to another day on the big blue sea, Cass

970 to go
Comments
Vessel Name: Sora
Vessel Make/Model: Tayana 55' Ketch
Hailing Port: Pensacola Beach, FL
Crew: Terry & Karen Kreitzberg
About: Terry Kreitzberg is retired and he and his wife are in the process of a circumnavigation. Not in any hurry, will sail till the wheels come off.

Who are we, and just what do we think we're doing?

Who: Terry & Karen Kreitzberg
Port: Pensacola Beach, FL