Sailing With Sora

Terry and Karen circumnavigating the globe currently in Phuket, Thailand. Will remain in the area for a refit and some road trips around Asia for a year or so.

09 December 2010
02 March 2009 | Phuket
02 March 2009 | `Phuket
23 February 2009 | Andaman Sea
19 February 2009 | Bangkok
06 February 2009 | Thailand
24 December 2008 | Langkawi, Malaysia
09 December 2008 | Penang
06 December 2008 | Penang
02 December 2008 | Penang
29 November 2008 | Kuhla Lumpur
25 November 2008 | The Straits of Melaka
15 November 2008 | Johor Bahru
02 November 2008 | Singapore
17 October 2008 | Kumai
10 October 2008 | Borneo (Kalimantan)
09 October 2008 | Borneo
03 October 2008 | Kangean
28 September 2008 | Return to Lovina
28 September 2008 | Cruise to Lombok

Not a Lick

31 August 2008
Cassie
It wasn't until an hour ago that our engine finally got a rest. It's 3 in the morning and we have actually got an 8-10kn breeze off the starboard bow. I couldn't be more delighted. The skies are clear and the evening is so peaceful. I have the full body/brain buzz that one can only feel after having been steadily vibrated for an extended period of time. Like sanding a deck, blow drying your hair, or giving a tattoo (I'd imagine), your limbs enjoy a pleasing recovery tickle when the stimulus ceases.

I am trying to soak up as much of this as I can for when the sun rises it becomes stifling. I'm not talking about, "man, I sure am hot". I am talking full on, "I'm sweating in places I didn't know I had" hot. I scrambled eggs on the teak deck for breakfast...not really, but I could have. There is lots of book reading and shade seeking and napping and cold water drinking. We are keeping to ourselves. There is little conversation cause don't have much to say other than, "Damn. I'm hot."And you don't have to ask the other person if they're hot because the answer is apparent by the contortion of their face as they have sweat rolling in their eyes that seems to say, "If you state the obvious one more time I'm going to punch you in the face." That is if any of us had the energy to punch each other in the face. I think the worse we could do is give dirty looks. I keep having the compulsion to hide in the freezer.

Cheers to glorious night watches!
Cass

This is a picture of Turima Kasi, a little woden number that has enough character for a whole fleet. She was displayed at the maritime museum in Darwin. Dad sneaked a picture in the cameras forbidden zone...and I'm glad he did. I have a feeling that I'm going to start out with something about this condition...and I can't wait!

In the time that I've written this the wind has died. awwww....man.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sora
Vessel Make/Model: Tayana 55' Ketch
Hailing Port: Pensacola Beach, FL
Crew: Terry & Karen Kreitzberg
About: Terry Kreitzberg is retired and he and his wife are in the process of a circumnavigation. Not in any hurry, will sail till the wheels come off.

Who are we, and just what do we think we're doing?

Who: Terry & Karen Kreitzberg
Port: Pensacola Beach, FL