Port: Whortonsville, NC
21 November 2020 | Whortonsville Ensign Harbor
09 December 2019 | Whortonsville, NC
15 September 2019 | Whortonsville, NC
10 May 2019 | Whortonsville, NC
10 May 2019 | Whortonsville, NC
01 October 2018 | Whortonsville, NC
11 September 2018 | Whortonsville, NC
05 September 2018 | Whortonsville, NC
29 May 2018 | Whortonsville, NC
02 May 2018 | Whortonsville, NC
07 December 2017 | Whortonsville
09 August 2017 | Whortonsville / Oriental
02 July 2017 | Whortonsville
15 May 2017 | Whortonsville
22 March 2017 | Whortonsville, NC
05 December 2016 | Whortonsville, NC
01 November 2016 | Whortonsville, NC
29 September 2016 | Beaufort / Whortonsville
28 August 2016 | Whortonsville, NC
13 June 2016 | Belhaven NC

Helping Out July 2013

20 July 2013 | Whortonsville, NC
Lane Kendall
My friend Richard called mid week and asked if we were coming down on the weekend. He had noticed our folded dinghy lying on the boat and thought maybe we were getting ready to go somewhere. He went on to say that he had an appointment at the Wayfarer’s Cove yard and would appreciate some help moving the boat. I told him we were not planning a trip this weekend, but after talking to the first mate, we had no pressing plans that would prevent me going to help. I called Richard back and asked when he wanted to leave the dock.

Friday July 19, 2013
I left home right after work. Judy stayed at home. I packed very lightly because I planned to return home after the boat was delivered. I considered staying in a nice cool roadside hotel in Kinston on the way but when I got to Kinston it was only about 9:30 and the evening was very nice. I decided to press on and save myself the 50 bucks. There was a steady breeze but it was hot. I turned on both fans and rolled out my bedroll. I slept fairly well and woke up early.

Saturday July 20, 2013
I woke up early. Since I had originally planned to sleep in a hotel the night before, I had nothing to eat for breakfast. I drove over to Grantsboro to get McDonald’s coffee and picked up a package of pop-tarts. I saw Richard’s truck in the parking lot. He was shopping for our lunch.

Richard had been trying to get in touch with the yard master for several days but his calls were not being returned. The wind was strong from the southwest and sometimes that makes it difficult to get in the channel at Wayfarer’s Cove. We could not wait much longer so we untied the boat and left the dock. I think Richard figured if he could not get into the yard we could go back to Oriental and he would at least be a log closer. Since he is retired he could move the boat as soon as the channel was passable.

Richard had had some problems with his boat’s engine overheating. He was fairly certain that it was because his folding prop was fouled with barnacles. He had hired a diver to clean the bottom and the prop and figured the issue was solved. Not long after we left the dock the heat gauge started climbing. It was fine as long as the speed was kept low but not at cruising speed. We returned to the dock and tied her up. I got a call on my cell from Frances. She could not reach Richard so she told me that the yard master had called and said not to come because there was only about 3 feet of water in the channel. Not enough. To make matters worse, the call from Frances to me made we realize that Richard’s cell phone was missing. Missing and presumed “in the drink”. Richard thanked me and apologized for the long drive for nothing but I know the score. This had not been a productive day but where boats are concerned, you just never know and you have to try.

I had not planned to stay Saturday night anyway so I struck out for home. I stopped and got a nice meal and was home by late afternoon.




Comments
Vessel Name: Southern Star
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 30
Hailing Port: Whortonsville, NC
About:
Southern Star is owned and sailed by Lane and Judy Kendall from Mount Pleasant, NC Southern Star (formerly Sea Breeze II) started her life on Lake Lanier near Atlanta. [...]
Extra:
1983 Catalina 30 Tall Rig with Bow Sprint
Builder: Catalina Yachts
Designer: Frank Butler

Dimensions:
LOA: 29' 11"
LWL: 25'
Beam: 10' 10"
Displacement: 10,300 lbs
Draft: 5'3"
Engine: Universal M-25 21HP
Tankage:
Fuel 18 [...]
Home Page: http://www.svsouthernstar.com

Port: Whortonsville, NC