SV Dawn Treader's Adventures

16 March 2014 | Mazatlan Shopping & Dinner?
16 March 2014 | Marina Fonatur, Mazatlan
11 March 2014 | South Anchorage Mazatlan
11 March 2014 | Ensenada Matanchen, San Blas to South Anchorage Mazatlan.
11 March 2014 | Chacala to Ensenada Matanchen, San Blas
11 March 2014 | Bahia de Jaltemba to Chacala
11 March 2014 | La Cruz to Bahia de Jaltemba
11 March 2014 | To La Cruz, Marina Riviera Nayarit,
11 March 2014 | Paradise Village Marina Welcome Party
11 March 2014 | Paradise Village Resort and Marina, Nuevo Vallarta, Nayarit Mexico
11 March 2014 | La Cruz to Paradise Village Marina, Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico.
11 March 2014 | Bahia de Jaltemba to La Cruz
11 March 2014 | Chacala to Bahia de Jaltemba
11 March 2014 | Chacala
11 March 2014 | San Blas to Chacala
11 March 2014 | San Blas
02 March 2014 | Matachen Bay to Marina Fonatur, San Blas
02 March 2014 | Matachen Bay, San Blas
02 March 2014 | Isla Maria Isabella to San Blas
02 March 2014 | Mazatlan to Isla Isabella

WHAT? ANOTHER GADGET TO COMMUNICATE WITH?

30 March 2013
Jim
Yep that is right.
I grew up understanding what communications can do for you. From talking on the radio while working at the Fryeburg Airport, and definitely the whole while I was in the Army. My Army time consisted of much of the time being away from everyone, and only having radio communications with them for support. I am a very big fan of being able to communicate when I want to.
So I have been looking or better yet, researching the various methods available to me.
Onboard I have, a Uniden ES, Marine VHF Radio with DSC and Hailer. An ICOM 802 Marine SSB with HAM bands open for my use. Add a SignaLink USB for doing PSK-31 over the SSB. So yes, I can call SHIPCOM.COM and they will dialup any telephone number I want and I will get charged only $1 per minute. Basically the same price as Satellite phone price. But my SSB I can talk to ships and land stations all over the world. Oh, did I mention that the email is FREE? BONUS for getting my HAM license. So where am I going with this post you wonder?
Well I have been looking at the satellite communicator system ‘FINDME SPOT’. Check it out if you want a cheap tracker, text capable, and SOS to the world over the satellite network.
I have the SPOT Connect version. It is designed to be controlled from iPhone and Android Smart Phones. I don’t have one of those, but I do have a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2…
My Tablet can control my ship computer from the cockpit, and I can control my SPOT Connect. So, as I am traveling on my way, the SPOT Connect will post to a Google map my location every 10 minutes. The manual and data sheets say it runs on batteries. But to update the firmware you have a USB cable for it. It also says to make sure the batteries are not in it when it is plugged in with the USB cable. Well, I know I flunked math all my life but, I experimented. It works full time if you leave it plugged in with the cable. SWEET!!! Save my batteries. I have the SOS capabilities with this rig too. Also, I can send text messages, no matter if I have cell signal on my cell phone or not. So guess what is going happen to that stupid phone of mine? It will be off most of the time when I am away from a port. Be forewarned if you plan to call me.
I have a USB Wi-Fi device coming that I am going to make into a Wi-Fi Antenna boosted to hopefully get me up to 10 miles of signal from a hotspot. So I can sit in a harbor and use an Internet Café or whatever’s Wi-Fi signal. I will not even discuss here what I will do if the signal-network is secured…
Additionally, I can use the antenna as an Omni-directional and a unidirectional system. Either with a whip antenna or a dish setup, I am a guy who likes options.
Comments
Vessel Name: Dawn Treader
Vessel Make/Model: Columbia 45
Hailing Port: Olympia, Washington USA
Crew: Jim
About: Retired, like to laugh and have a good time. Serious when needed, otherwise I am a simple person with simple desires, and needs. I have seen a lot of the world from the inland side of it, now for the coastals.
Extra: Update: I am landlocked now in the Deserts of Arizona