Christian Allaire's Sailing Life

COME WITH ME ABOARD S/V CHRISTA FOR A RIDE AROUND THE BLUE PLANET STARTING SEPTEMBER 2007

30 December 2010 | San Francisco Bay Area
28 April 2010 | Naples Florida
08 January 2010 | Naples Florida
10 November 2009 | St Thomas USVI
25 October 2009 | Grenada
18 September 2009
01 July 2009 | St Davids, South Coast of Grenada
16 May 2009
12 May 2009
06 May 2009 | Bequia
29 April 2009 | Bequia
22 April 2009 | Bequia
17 April 2009
12 April 2009 | Marigot Bay St Lucia
10 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
03 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
02 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia

Motion Along the South Coast

10 March 2008 | Ponce Puerto Rico
Capt Chris
It was an early morning anchor detail. I was up at 3 am having my morning coffee. I had the anchor weighted and stowed by 4am. With Snark just astern I motored south and around Cabo Rojo and made the turn to the east. At 5am the swell was down and so was the wind. Both Snark and I were pretty jazzed about the conditions and the forecast. I had decided to make a run for Salinas which is about 60 nautical miles to the east. But wouldn't you know it, right on schedule the trade winds piped up at 930, although the forecast called for NE winds at 10 knots. The conditions were SE 15 knots. So Salinas was clearly out of the question. So I made tracks for Ponce which was a long difficult 12 miles measured from the point the wind picked up. Snark decided to hunker down behind Gilligans Island as they were several miles behind me when they encountered wind. I had the hook down by 1pm. Ponce is Puerto Rico's second largest city and is an industrial center. I am anchored in a bight which holds the Ponce Yacht Club and some moorings. It is pretty protected from the prevailing conditions although you feel the full brunt of the trades. I am tired with my early morning today and if the winds calms down like it normally does I'll haul anchor tomorrow morning around 3 am to make the 22 mile jump to Salinas.

I really hope I can make Salinas tomorrow. The whole gang is anchored in Salinas. Word is that Salinas has a Luperon feel to it. Meaning it is a congregation point for many cruisers and is a cruiser friendly place with two or three marinas. I have an appointment with Hector the Yanmar on Weds to do the 1200 service on the engine. I also plan on doing so more inland travel up to San Juan on Thursday and maybe stay through the weekend. One last note. Some of you may recall I had my coveted Maui Jim sunglasses crushed in a hatch back in Fort Pierce. I had them repaired in December and promptly missed them in every port I went to. I spent about $400 in shipping charges to get them back. So it was with great pleasure that Kim delivered my mail the other day. I'm back in the saddle with the Maui Jim's.



Capt Chris
Comments
Vessel Name: Christa
Vessel Make/Model: 1975 Westsail 32
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Christian Allaire
About: Single Handed Sailor
Extra:
I left Newport Rhode Island in September of 2007 aboard Christa, my Westsail32 bound for the worlds oceans. I spent the months of Sep-Dec 2007 sailing down the US east coast. In December of 2007 I made the jump to the Bahamas. February 2008 found me in Luperon Dominican Republic. After [...]

My Mug

Who: Christian Allaire
Port: San Francisco