Christian Allaire's Sailing Life

COME WITH ME ABOARD S/V CHRISTA FOR A RIDE AROUND THE BLUE PLANET STARTING SEPTEMBER 2007

30 December 2010 | San Francisco Bay Area
28 April 2010 | Naples Florida
08 January 2010 | Naples Florida
10 November 2009 | St Thomas USVI
25 October 2009 | Grenada
18 September 2009
01 July 2009 | St Davids, South Coast of Grenada
16 May 2009
12 May 2009
06 May 2009 | Bequia
29 April 2009 | Bequia
22 April 2009 | Bequia
17 April 2009
12 April 2009 | Marigot Bay St Lucia
10 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
03 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
02 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia

My Distraction From Weather

22 August 2008 | Salinas Puerto Rico
Capt Chris
Reacquaint yourself with Janina who currently lives in Clearwater Florida but is visiting Christa and I in Puerto Rico. You may recall from my 5/8/08 blog post that Jani and I had lunch together while I was visiting my parents in Florida in May.

Janina barely made it out of Orlando before Tropical Storm Fay became a big headache for Central Florida. Of course on my way to the San Juan Airport I got caught in what the newspaper the next day called "A Massive Traffic Jam." So I crawled for two hours and advanced two miles before being released from a very tense filled situation. Air conditioning would have been an asset in this situation. Unfortunately the Mirage lacks this amenity. But I was overjoyed to scoop up Janina at the airport. We decided celebrate her arrival by going to my favorite breakfast joint in San Juan called Pinkey's.

Since our arrival in Salinas we have slipped into the south shore grove. Janina has adapted well back into cruisers leisurely style. We had dinner on Tuesday at the Cruisiers Galley for meat loaf night, taken in a movie at a local theater and enjoyed dinner and movie night last at the Cruisers Galley. Yesterday we hopped into the Mirage and drove to the town of Coamo which lies somewhat in the mountains. We checked out a called Hotel Banos de Coamo founded in 1847. The major draw to the place is it has hot spring feed pools. It has a really cool outdoor feel with an open air bar and what looked to be a nice restaurant. The downside was it is old and not maintained very well. The pools had cracks in cement and such but it was great place to mingle with the locals. One of pools, a smooth 109 degrees in public so just anyone can come swishing in and enjoy some aquatic therapy. Word around the campfire is that the Coamo baths were considered the Fountain of Youth that Ponce de Leon was seeking. The baths have been a place of rituals and pilgrimages. Now after soaking I was so dazed over the soothing water and more importantly Janina's presence that I lost the car keys.

The blasted weather! Janina is a wonderful distraction from my obessing about the weather. However I have not lost the ball. We are watching active weather possibly heading our way. Stayed tuned.

Capt Chris
Comments
Vessel Name: Christa
Vessel Make/Model: 1975 Westsail 32
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Christian Allaire
About: Single Handed Sailor
Extra:
I left Newport Rhode Island in September of 2007 aboard Christa, my Westsail32 bound for the worlds oceans. I spent the months of Sep-Dec 2007 sailing down the US east coast. In December of 2007 I made the jump to the Bahamas. February 2008 found me in Luperon Dominican Republic. After [...]

My Mug

Who: Christian Allaire
Port: San Francisco