Christian Allaire's Sailing Life

COME WITH ME ABOARD S/V CHRISTA FOR A RIDE AROUND THE BLUE PLANET STARTING SEPTEMBER 2007

30 December 2010 | San Francisco Bay Area
28 April 2010 | Naples Florida
08 January 2010 | Naples Florida
10 November 2009 | St Thomas USVI
25 October 2009 | Grenada
18 September 2009
01 July 2009 | St Davids, South Coast of Grenada
16 May 2009
12 May 2009
06 May 2009 | Bequia
29 April 2009 | Bequia
22 April 2009 | Bequia
17 April 2009
12 April 2009 | Marigot Bay St Lucia
10 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
03 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia
02 April 2009 | Rodney Bay St Lucia

It Always Happens On The Bus

27 December 2008 | St John, USVI
Capt Chris, 80, NE 25 KNOTS GUSTING INTO THE 30'S
The St John Bus Service really is the first time in my life I've used public transportation for any period of time. I certainly hope that public transport back in the states is a little more squared away than down here.

Case in the point. The Pic. Janina snapped this gem right after about a gallon of water created by the bus's malfunctioning AC system dumped over my head and down my back. I was picking about two years worth of rust chips out of my scalp. Of course the bus driver was fully aware of this fact but could care less to warn anyone. I have found some of the locals to be less than nice and in fact dislike every bus driver with the exception of one older guy. Most need a serious attitude adjustment.

One day the driver stopped a full 20 minutes with a bus load of people while she went a got something to eat. Another day the bus whipped around a corner at flank speed sending a 300 pound women tumbling into the doors head first. I watched the doors straining under the load and thought for sure those doors were going to let loose. Of course the driver was texting when this incident occured. On Janina's first day the bus broke down and we had to transfer bus's which really is par. But a new bus experience ensued when the driver passed the town dumpsters, otherwise known as Coral Bay K-Mart, only to slam to a halt and throw the bus in reverse. A full dumpster diving operation took place with the passengers looking on. He popped out with an antique radio. He's all smiles and kept saying "it's an antique it's an antique" and I chimed in "just like our bus."

Like I said it all happens on the bus.

Capt Chris
Comments
Vessel Name: Christa
Vessel Make/Model: 1975 Westsail 32
Hailing Port: San Francisco
Crew: Christian Allaire
About: Single Handed Sailor
Extra:
I left Newport Rhode Island in September of 2007 aboard Christa, my Westsail32 bound for the worlds oceans. I spent the months of Sep-Dec 2007 sailing down the US east coast. In December of 2007 I made the jump to the Bahamas. February 2008 found me in Luperon Dominican Republic. After [...]

My Mug

Who: Christian Allaire
Port: San Francisco