04 October 2012 | Seattle, WA
03 April 2012 | In Cold Storage
25 July 2011 | Somers, Montana
23 June 2011 | Dayton, MT
24 May 2011 | Dayton, MT
16 December 2010 | From A Far Warmer Climate
08 December 2010 | St Vincent and the Grenadines

Future Planes for LG

16 December 2010 | From A Far Warmer Climate
Toasty warm
As I'm hanging around here in the islands, I sit here thinking about all the good stuff I'd like to do to get Looking Glass ready for some cruising fun. Here's a sample of the list. If you have any thoughts, send me an e-mail @sailfast14@hotmail.com

A nice canvas dodger is high on the list. Keep the rain away from the companionway and provide some spray protection while sailing. Would like to make it myself, since it could be considerably cheaper.

A solar panel. I would rather not use the engine to recharge and solar setups are getting cheaper. Thinking about mounting one 85w panel on the stern pulpit. The infamous SolarStik is just a little too pricey and I want to keep things simple.

Change lights to LED to conserve power.
Replace water tank in bilge and paint bilge (Interlux Barriercoat?)
Replace ceiling liner. Paint overhead.
Tiller-autopilot.
New shrouds, forestay, backstay.
New bottom paint
Give the little YSB8 engine an overhaul. Hopefully that'll keep it happy for awhile.
New depth and speed instruments. New compass
Work on increasing and improving storage in the boat. Organization of things.
Wifi Antenna for increased chance of gaining a signal while out.
A trailer!! I'd love to be able to have my own place to store the boat while out of season.
Ohh there are lots of little projects. I'm hoping to keep things simple and not focus on getting the boat "perfect". I love the idea of going cruising now versus waiting for conditions and the boat to be ideal. Looking Glass is a safe craft currently, everything I do from here on out will just make life easier.

The plan is to be cruising by the summer of 2012. chip chop chip.
Comments
Vessel Name: Looking Glass
Vessel Make/Model: Pacific Seacraft 25
Hailing Port: Seattle, WA
Social:

Port: Seattle, WA