SV Northfork

08 May 2012
18 March 2012
22 January 2012 | USA
10 October 2011
28 August 2011 | Vanuatu/USA
20 August 2011 | Port Vila, Vanuatu & USA
29 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
25 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
25 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
24 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
22 July 2011 | Fiji
19 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
18 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
15 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
12 July 2011 | Cloudbreak, Fiji
11 July 2011 | Malolo, Fiji
08 July 2011 | Malolo, Fiji
04 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
04 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
07 June 2011 | Plantation Island, Fiji

Cosy and Comfy!

17 April 2011 | Auckland
Dana
Well I got the memory foam cut yesterday. It was a bit of a challenge but I did it. I figured the best way was to relay the foam on the back deck and then bring the mattress up top to trace. So that's what I(we) did. Mark helped me get the monstrosity up on the deck and then carry out the mattress. I traced the mattress with a big sharpie a little outside the edge of the mattress. I looked online to find the best ways to cut memory foam. What I came up with was an electric carving knife. Slight problem...I don't have one and I'm not about to buy one because I'm sure in NZ they would be ridiculously priced and I don't have any other need (or space) for one on the boat. So instead I pulled out my big knife and decided I would just give it a go with that.

A little note about my knives. I have these two great Silvermark ceramic knives. I had been looking for good knives for the boat for awhile and was thrilled when I came across these for a couple of reasons: They are ceramic and don't rust. This is a huge benefit on a boat. They also come with covers for the blades so I can just throw them in my drawers without worrying they are going to nick my wood or something else in the drawer (remember limited space on a boat means lots of variety in each drawer) and it means underway I don't have to be afraid to put my hand in the drawer. They stay sharp and I can be sharpened. When I bought these they only made this two size pack which has been enough on the boat but I have discovered writing this post that they now have 4" & 6" knives as well. I don't think I need anything more for cooking but I'd love to replace our steak knives with these. I have having all those sharp objects in the drawers.

Back to the mattress pad... I discovered that if I made long smooth cuts with the knife it worked pretty well. I did make kind of a rippled effect on the edges that I cut but those got pushed against the wall so I don't think it's an issue and with a proper table it probably could have been done a little smoother. Overall it worked out well. Only thing is that it is slightly smaller than the mattress even though I traced outside the mattress and cut outside that line. I think without the weight of what I cut off it shrunk up a little. This works for us because I didn't want the pad to snug since we need to be able to lift our bed and get to the storage underneith but it would be if you wanted a perfect fit.

Now I have a huge piece left over and I'm trying to figure out how to use it. It's so nice and soft I'd hate to throw it out but storing it is not an option. Maybe some pillows? Anyone have any ideas?

Photos of the project.
Comments
Vessel Name: Northfork
Vessel Make/Model: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Hailing Port: Incline Village
Crew: Mark, Dana
About:
Mark and Dana set out in June of 2008. We have sailed the Eastern Seaboard of the US, down through the Caribbean, through the Panama Canal, and crossed the Pacific Ocean to NZ where we spent six months for the cyclone season. We are now back out in the Pacific Islands and heading toward Australia. [...]

Mark & Dana

Who: Mark, Dana
Port: Incline Village
Copyright ©  2010 SV Northfork All Rights Reserved
We shall have no liability to any person for the content, accuracy or reliability of SVNorthfork blog.