SV Northfork

08 May 2012
18 March 2012
22 January 2012 | USA
10 October 2011
28 August 2011 | Vanuatu/USA
20 August 2011 | Port Vila, Vanuatu & USA
29 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
25 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
25 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
24 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
22 July 2011 | Fiji
19 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
18 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
15 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
12 July 2011 | Cloudbreak, Fiji
11 July 2011 | Malolo, Fiji
08 July 2011 | Malolo, Fiji
04 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
04 July 2011 | Port Denarau, Fiji
07 June 2011 | Plantation Island, Fiji

Finally

25 April 2011 | Auckland
Dana
Cye is supposed to do be our guest blogger and let everyone know about our Easter so I'll give him a chance to finish brainstorming and see if he actually writes.

In the meantime I thought I'd tell everyone about my new favorite thing. I am of the belief that just because I live on a boat it doesn't mean I should have crappy kitchen appliances, utensils, pans, etc. I've been looking for a good cutting board for awhile and I FINALLY found an awesome one. Cye and I just happened across it in a grocery store we were checking out. My counters are slightly set down so that nothing can go flying off under way. Perfect for that purpose - terrible for cutting. I always hit my wrist on the edge and since I wear a watch on the same hand I cut with I always have to take it off so I don't damage the wood. The other issue I have been dealing with is that my counters have tiny little crevices around the edge that stuff likes to get stuck in. I was just going to get a higher chopping block and hope that it would do the job but then we found this Joseph Joseph Cut and Carve Chopping Board.

First it is slanted so I don't hit my wrist since it is angled up. Second it collects all the crumbs and meat juices since everything flows down and it has a lip around the edge. It is two sided - one side for regular cutting and the other for carving. I never thought I'd use the carving side that has teeth to hold the meat in place but I did on my very first night. Needless to say I am pretty happy with my new find. I'm really going to miss having good stores again for awhile. But I suppose that it what sailing is about.
Comments
Vessel Name: Northfork
Vessel Make/Model: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Hailing Port: Incline Village
Crew: Mark, Dana
About:
Mark and Dana set out in June of 2008. We have sailed the Eastern Seaboard of the US, down through the Caribbean, through the Panama Canal, and crossed the Pacific Ocean to NZ where we spent six months for the cyclone season. We are now back out in the Pacific Islands and heading toward Australia. [...]

Mark & Dana

Who: Mark, Dana
Port: Incline Village
Copyright ©  2010 SV Northfork All Rights Reserved
We shall have no liability to any person for the content, accuracy or reliability of SVNorthfork blog.