S/V Uhuru

The excellent adventures of S/V Uhuru.

19 February 2019
18 November 2017 | Portobello, Panama
05 April 2017
05 April 2017
05 April 2017
28 March 2017
07 March 2017
05 March 2017
05 March 2017
26 February 2017
25 February 2017
24 February 2017
24 February 2017

Wonderbag

21 September 2016

When I’m seeking a tasty new recipe, my go to is The Pioneer Woman. Today she hasn’t let me down with her “Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork” recipe. I know, right? Dr. Pepper?

We didn’t bring a crock-pot with us when we moved aboard. I had a fantastic Dutch oven (well French really) that I thought would serve us well. Crock-pots require constant electricity, which would be a big draw if we were away from the dock.

We started talking about the benefits of crock pots though, and how using one would keep the heat down and make some fabulous meals, so Brian did some research and found a website (wonderbagworld.com) advertising a “revolutionary Non-Electric Heat Retention Cooker”. Perfect! He ordered one, we got it, and I started cooking!

Combine the recipe from the Pioneer Woman, my “French” oven (FO) and the Wonderbag and you have a fabulous entrée!

My piece of meat was smaller than what was called for at 1.25 kilos (not quite 3 pounds) so I went with half a can of the Chipotle’s in Adobo sauce. I browned the meat quickly, threw the ingredients in, brought it to a boil and then put the French Oven into the Wonderbag. Twice in the next four hours, at 2 hours increments, I took the FO out of the bag and brought it back to a boil, which didn’t take more than 5 minutes. It was still pretty hot each time I opened the Wonderbag. After 6 hours, it was perfect. I pulled it apart, threw it back in with the juices and then served it up with warm flour tortillas, black beans, guacamole, cheese (for Brian) and some salsa.

Pulled pork is really up there for me, one of my favorite things to eat. I’m so glad this was a success and I think Brian is pretty happy too ☺
Comments
Vessel Name: Uhuru
Vessel Make/Model: CT-41
Hailing Port: San Diego, CA
Crew: Brian
Social:
Uhuru's Photos - Main
No Photos
Created 25 February 2016