S/V Uhuru

The excellent adventures of S/V Uhuru.

19 February 2019
18 November 2017 | Portobello, Panama
05 April 2017
05 April 2017
05 April 2017
28 March 2017
07 March 2017
05 March 2017
05 March 2017
26 February 2017
25 February 2017
24 February 2017
24 February 2017

Nicaragua

23 February 2017
No wind today, it stopped just before 2am ☹ but LOTS of sea life ☺ Spinner dolphins, sooo many turtles, a whale, jumping rays, birds, jellyfish and some kind of caterpillar jellyfish. It looked like a bunch of little jellies all strung together....like biscuits. Definitely going to look that one up when we get some Wi-Fi.

I took lots of video with my new GoPro, a gift from my son. xo
I hooked it up to the stick and stuck it in the water BEFORE I considered that perhaps it might have needed some kind of waterproof housing, but it still worked, thankfully, lol! It's a GoPro right?!?

And then, on the opposite end of the spectrum, I also marveled at modern technology. I am able to download a map of the weather, wind maps, swell height forecasts, a map with the currents and even rain forecasts. I can also send and receive text messages. It's just amazing to me that I can sit out here 50 miles from land, type messages into my cell phone, bounce them off of a satellite and send it anywhere in the world. Fantastic!

This same day, Brian noticed the engine running a little hot so we stopped the boat (there was no wind), in the middle of nowhere, no land in sight, to let it cool down for about an hour so he could check the fluids. Remember he just installed a new heat exchanger. The water was SO blue, like Caribbean blue. I was making sandwiches and tossed a slice of tomato into the water and shortly after, Brian said "I just saw a shark". Sure enough, there were two of them, checking out my tomato slice. They were quick though, darting (and no, I didn't get a picture, duh).
Comments
Vessel Name: Uhuru
Vessel Make/Model: CT-41
Hailing Port: San Diego, CA
Crew: Brian
Social:
Uhuru's Photos - Main
No Photos
Created 25 February 2016