SV Why Knot- No plan, no schedule, no destination.

The passing of my life mate has ended the cruise of Why Knot. Thanks to those that followed her voyages. It gave us wonderful memories and a heck of a life

Dreams in Works

Who: Bear (Jo) and Bligh (Howell) Cooper and Scurv
Port: Port Aransas, Texas
Our greatest challenge was to actually bring in the dock lines at our home port and get going. Next came the actual act of living aboard which is way different than weekending or the occasional extended sail. This is life avoiding causing your mate to drop stuff or run into bulkheads. This is having so much stuff aboard that one has to inventory. This is life without land transportation in strange places. This is meeting folks and hating to say good bye, then looking forward to the time when courses cross again, to the surprise of seeing them at some unexpected place.
14 October 2015
16 February 2015 | Port Aransas
18 December 2014
02 December 2014 | Port Aransas, Texas
09 October 2014 | Port Aransas
28 September 2014 | City Marina, Port Aransas
04 September 2014 | Clear Lake, Texas
01 September 2014
24 August 2014
13 August 2014
09 August 2014 | Clear Lake Shores, Texas
01 August 2014
13 July 2014 | Clear Lake, Texas
29 June 2014 | Clear Lake/Canyon Lake
17 June 2014
15 June 2014 | Solomons, MD- same old slip- not moved
12 June 2014
28 May 2014

Don't Wait Too Long

16 September 2012 | Solomons, MD
Perfect
DON’T WAIT TOO LONG
September 16, 2012
There I was over enemy territory in my crippled Mosquito after eluding the Luftwaffe over the V-2 site at Peenemunde. I just dropped my bunker buster and thought my plane, at the time the world’s fastest aircraft, would take me safely back to the pub in Hereford when it dawned on me that something wet and warm was dripping from my ear. It did not hurt so the wound could not be too serious. I kept trying to keep my plane aloft but was losing the altitude game. I would crash and hopefully it would be painless and quick. That darn ear wound kept my attention from the instruments. Just then consciousness brought me to the realization I was not in that mosquito but in the rack on Why Knot. My wound was a wet willie from Scurv who was auguring a six inch tongue in the ear on my port side. The whole side of my face was dripping. The dream would wait but for now; Scurv wanted me to hit the deck. Wow, how’s that for getting out of a tight spot? All I needed to start the day was a towel and some soap.
Boys and girls, there are many rewards to cruising and though I write of the never ending list of stuff to do, those rewards make all the work seem insignificant. Many do not see it and wonder why the heck one would want to compact life into a few moving square feet. To some, the call of the sea is great and most who answer it are rewarded beyond all imagination. Those who stand on the beach get some glimpse at the world at sea. My first such glimpse, that I remember, was in a small Texas coastal settlement, Seadrift. I stuck my toes in that warm bay water and looked for the notch in the land where one could see the curvature of the earth on the water. Just over that horizon was the rest of the world. Years later my Mate caught the dream wave and the rest is history. It was years in the making but one sail out the jetties in Port A and we were hooked. If we have learned anything along the way it is to suppress the need to do just a few more years of nine to five and get out here now. After all, the Mayans claim the deal is done in December 2012. There isn’t much time left.
Comments
Vessel Name: Why Knot
Vessel Make/Model: Beneteau 411 #24 built in Marion, SC
Hailing Port: Port Aransas, Texas
Crew: Bear (Jo) and Bligh (Howell) Cooper and Scurv
About:
Each other's only date in life. 30 years sailing Texas waters and now on the cruise of dreams (even though there are days when it is hard to believe). About Why Knot Why Knot survived Hurricane Katrina whilst in New Orleans. Year Built: 1998 L.O.A.: 41'-8" Hull Length: 40'-5" L.W.L. [...]
Extra: Scurv (ABSD= able bodied sea dog) signed on in October 2012. Scurv is a toy Schnauzer

Dreams in Works

Who: Bear (Jo) and Bligh (Howell) Cooper and Scurv
Port: Port Aransas, Texas
Our greatest challenge was to actually bring in the dock lines at our home port and get going. Next came the actual act of living aboard which is way different than weekending or the occasional extended sail. This is life avoiding causing your mate to drop stuff or run into bulkheads. This is having so much stuff aboard that one has to inventory. This is life without land transportation in strange places. This is meeting folks and hating to say good bye, then looking forward to the time when courses cross again, to the surprise of seeing them at some unexpected place.
Why Knot left Texas in January of 2010 bound for no particular harbor. We made ports of call all around the Gulf Coast to the Keys then north up the Atlantic Coast and to the Abacos.