Sward's adventures

24 March 2009
15 March 2009
14 March 2009
14 March 2009
14 March 2009 | Man-O-War Continued
27 February 2009
27 February 2009
24 February 2009
22 February 2009
19 February 2009
18 February 2009
17 February 2009
11 February 2009

Thursday, Feb 12-The crossing

12 February 2009
+Laek Worth/Palm Beach to Memory Rock-53 nautical miles (nm) --
Memory Rock as I'm sure is called because you'd remember it if you
hit it. It's just a relatively small rock in the middle of the ocean. We
passed it-saw it with the spot light-a little too close
+Next waypoint-Mangrove Key-23.5 nm
+We read in the book that we could check in with Customs and
Immigration at Walkers Cay (pronounced Key) so went north 20.9 nm
+What a beautiful sunny day with water so clear and blue
+Mike read the guide and was on deck guiding me thru the channel
which consisted fo a couple of pilings in a winding channel. Well only
as I can do, I was too far off of the second or third piling and we ran
aground-sand thankfully. We couldn't get off. I got in the water
with mask, snorkle and fins. I jumped into the water from the dingy-
thinking that when you usually go in the water to snorkle the water
is deep, I hit the bottom with a thud-water was only 4 1/2 ft deep.
I laughed so hard.
+Mike couldn't find my underwater camera-wish I could have taken a
picture of the boat/keel in the beautiful white sand-in the nice trench
I had made while trying to motor off.
+Anyway the current was strong. I couldn't see how I could do any
good and we found that the tide was low and starting to come up
so we decided to have a nice BBQ steak dinner that Mike had
brought and cooked. By the end of dinner we were off the bottom.
We decided trying to go in was a bad idea in the dark so we should
do another overnight leg to Spanish Cay-49 nm.
Comments
Vessel Name: DreamOn
Vessel Make/Model: Freedom 32