Sward's adventures

24 March 2009
15 March 2009
14 March 2009
14 March 2009
14 March 2009 | Man-O-War Continued
27 February 2009
27 February 2009
24 February 2009
22 February 2009
19 February 2009
18 February 2009
17 February 2009
11 February 2009

To Great Guana Cay

22 February 2009
15 nm (nautical miles) zig zagging thru the shoals-had to go thru the "whale" where the Atlantic comes in thru the islands to cause high waves/swells. We had to wait in Green Turtle for the winds to die down and water to calm down to be able to go thru. We heard other boats on the radio asking "if anyone had gone thru the Whale and what the conditions were"
Mostly we motor-sailed. Another georgeous day. No wind but had the sails up. Again I was last out of the marina-there was a mass exodus. I followed Oddysee/ Jean-Mark and Marian. I really enjoyed them. We each took pictures of the others boats under sail. I haven't gotten their pictures via email and hope that one can be on my "boat cards" (like business cards-that we give to each other to remember them by). I'd like to put that picture on this blog if it is a good one. Jean-Marc and Marian decided not to go to Great Guana, but to countinue to Man-O-War Cay. I may not see them again this trip.
When I was approaching Great Guana, IB from Passport, (a 41ft Tayana), a beautiful boat, called on the VHF to tell me that all the moorings were taken. I anchored. Awhile later Clairebouyant left their mooring to continue on to Man-O-Way Cay. Lee and Barb came by in their dingy to let me know so I pulled up the anchor and went over to get that mooring. Lee and Barb were there to hand me the line.
A boat went by me and I saw a woman steering-I said are you alone and she said yes. I had heard in Green Turtle there was another single handing woman-we agreed to meet at Nippers later.
There is a famous bar-restaurant here called "Nippers". On Sunday's they have a pig roast. I didn't get there for that but the party was still going on. Fun-colorful place-upbeat music where many were dancing. Their drink was called a "fuzzy nipper"-another great rum punch. Mike and Jason-the 2 single handing guys, were there as well as 2 kids, Trevor and Brandon, I met a few days ago. They are 20 and 21 year old cousins from Nova Scotia on a 30ft. sailboat that one of them restored from a derilict boat. Nice Kids. Laura from Lauren the other single handing woman I met was also there. She is only 29 years old, is here for the first time and also from Canada
We went to Pirate's Cove, for another rum punch and conversation. I had enough-I can't remember being drunk like that. Everyone walked me back to my dingy at the dock and I got back ok and in bed at 8PM
"The Settlement is one of the smallest in the central part of Abaco". It has one of the widest beaches and extends almost the entire 5 1/2 mile length of the island
Comments
Vessel Name: DreamOn
Vessel Make/Model: Freedom 32