Chasing Sunsets

16 November 2013 | Bocas Del Toro, Panama
19 October 2013 | Panama
22 January 2013 | HarborWalk Marina Hitchcock, TX
03 May 2011 | Guanaja Honduras
27 July 2010 | Costa Rica
07 May 2010
21 December 2009
25 October 2009 | Corpus Christi TX
25 September 2009 | Corpus Christi TX
01 July 2009
22 February 2009
19 February 2009 | Grand Isle State Park LA
14 February 2009
14 February 2009 | Florida
14 February 2009 | Florida
12 February 2009 | Florida
10 February 2009 | Fort Myers FL
09 February 2009 | Wichita Falls TX. / Dallas TX.
07 February 2009 | Dallas TX
06 February 2009 | At the Airport

One after another

19 February 2009 | Grand Isle State Park LA
Rick
One beautiful sunset after another I just can't believe how close the sun looks and feels. I just made it to Grand Isle State Park in Louisiana I was forced into the cove due to a major storm. I knew it was coming but it caught me a bit faster than I was hoping it hurt the foresail and I have to go shopping for a new cable in the morning I spent the day today fixing all of the other things that happen to break down during the storm
The weather was so nice the first few days and I had a fishing pole so I thought I would give it a try so I put it all together and cast it out and about twenty minutes later I heard the real just ripping so I headed to pick it up and start the fun well about ten minutes later I found I needed to slow the boat or spend all day getting the fish in so I put the rod back in the holder and dropped the sails then it was so easy to get it in then I took its picture and it was about twelve inches long or so I let it go and started all over the next one was about twice the size and took a lot longer to get in boy was I having fun now well the next one was so dang big I could not believe it so I did take a picture of it and it was close to three feet long OMG I said LOL. After I let it go I thought Hummmmm..... I wonder just what they would have tasted like but I did not have a knife or anything I really needed to do the job so I was glad to catch and release. I had all the food I can eat for a month so not that big of a deal.
I was having such a great time until I heard on the VHS that the storm was growing and moving faster than expected. I just about had the foresail all rolled up and the wind hit within five minutes it went from two to three foot waves to about ten foot and the wind went from five to ten knots to about 30 knots and it was about to get bad. Well to say the least I did not get the sails all put away and I almost ended up in the water watching my sailboat sail away from me but I did manage to hold on go inside and get a harness and strap myself to the boat but I still had a sail in the water being dragged along side and the wind was getting stronger so I got a hold of the sail and used a wench to get it on deck and into the forward hatch now the main sail was all that was up and that went really well and in a few minutes I had it reefed and was really scooting along now. I did not know just how big the waves were until I got the flashlight and looked and was just shocked I should not have looked because I was scared now the waves were about twenty feet and one second all I could see was water then the next was all air huge just huge waves. I turned and headed for the first marina on the chart plotter and got here safe. The wind has not let up at all and is still howling outside and the temperature has dropped about twenty degrees it is a bit cold outside now. I saw some dolphins today they even came in from the storm and just didn't seem to want to head out in it either.
I have a question for you all I saw what looks like a jelly fish that had like a balloon on its top that looked like a sail and in the wind they would move along. I have tried to take a picture of them but when I see them they go bye to fast to get a shot off, so if you know what they might be let me know please.
Comments
Vessel Name: Chasing Sunsets
Vessel Make/Model: TransPac 49
Hailing Port: Houston
Crew: Rick
About: We are Rick and Judy, we have been sailing for over ten years and just bought a larger sailboat a TransPac 49 and what a beautiful boat. We just have spent the past six months doing a refit and all new paint.
Extra: We are done with the refit and headed back home to Bocas Del Toro Panama.
Home Page: www.KnightsDream.com