Tail of Two Cats

A big cat can be dangerous, a little pussy never hurt anyone.

02 June 2013 | Turks & Caicos Islands, Dominican Republic
25 May 2013 | Conception Island to Provo
24 May 2013
16 May 2013 | Exuma Sound
11 May 2013 | Staniel Cay
09 May 2013 | The Great Bahama Bank & Nassau
06 May 2013 | North Cat Cay
02 May 2013 | Miami, FL to South Bimini, Bahamas
30 April 2013 | Dinner Key Marina
22 April 2013 | Miami/Corpus Christi
22 April 2013 | Biscayne Bay, FL
15 April 2013 | Padre Island, TX & Miami, FL
09 April 2013 | Dinner Key Marina, Elliot Key
01 April 2013
27 March 2013 | Miami, FL
25 March 2013 | Dinner Cay Marina

For the Love of an Old Man and the Sea

15 April 2013 | Padre Island, TX & Miami, FL
Liz
We've been in Miami for a little over 2 weeks now; outfitting the boat and patiently waiting for the final touches to be completed by the Florida Yacht Group crew. There have been a number of hang ups, both frustrating and time consuming, but Miami has treated us well and the Cuban workers on the boat are awesome. While they're working we spend our time shopping, eating, drinking and trolling for friends. And it all pays off in the end. Our to do lists are dwindling and we've met some amazing people in this town. Props to Christine, a Miami native we met at Burning Man who has really showed us a good time! We've also got an amazing neighbor in the marina on pier 7, "Handsome Dave" as Mom likes to call him. He's great and mixes the best dark & stormy with frozen mango...delicious. I wasn't sure I'd like Miami, to be honest, but I was completely wrong! This town is so diverse and interesting. Every night I go out saying, "Really guys, I want to make it an early night." Only to come home way after midnight with a whole new collection of phone numbers. I love Miami!!!

Having grown accustomed to our little place in Coconut Grove, my heart sunk a few days ago when we received some terrible family news. My grandpa Tom, who just celebrated his 80th birthday last December 18, was diagnosed with a truly invasive stage four carcinoma that has taken over his entire body. Fearing both chemo and surgery would only kill him faster, they've decided to try to make him as comfortable as possible and live out his last days at home surrounded by his family. So Mom and I jumped on a plane, and headed down to Padre Island, TX to bid farewell to a man we both love tremendously. Who knows how long he'll stick around, all I know is that we have to see him before we set off on this journey. To say hello, and good bye, and give him a huge hug so he knows how much he truly means to us. When planning an trip like this, everyone is aware of the possibility that something tragic might happen while we're gone. So, on a positive note, at least we still had the chance to go see him. But no matter how hard one tries to prepare emotionally, it still hurts. Sitting on the plane, I thought I was composed; at least strong enough to be there for my mom and sister who flew back from London. But as I let the tears slide down my cheek, I began realizing how hard the trip was going to be.

We spent three nights on Padre Island, in the condo my grandparents bought in 1978. It still feels like home, in a strange way, and as I watched the waves rolling into the beach, a realization dawned on me. This was the first place I truly fell in love with the sea and island life. Growing up in Colorado, we were as far away from the ocean as one could get. That being said, my first memories of that salt water smell and the sand between my toes came from the Gulf Coast. I visited every summer as a kid and absolutely loved it! So as I spent the last three days watching a sweet old man slowly slip away from us, I was comforted by the fact that he was at home,in bed, with a view of the beach he loved so much. We returned to Miami Sun April 14. Grandpa still hasn't let go, but we know he's close and are so grateful for the opportunity to make peace with his departure. The fact that this all transpired so quickly is difficult to cope with, but also a relief that we didn't miss our last chance to say goodbye. Had he fallen ill one month from now, we would be out to sea, and too far away to return. Though it was difficult to leave before he did, I know that Mom, Jacque and I gained the closure and acceptance that we were searching for. Both he and my grandma loved to travel and see the world. I like to think they'd be proud of us for setting out on this adventure. And I'll always see their faces in the stars and moon at night...


4/16/13 Dad finally did pass right before midnight on 4/15/13 (he always hated tax day...) We're so glad we got to see him. tell him how much we love him, and hear him tell us he loved us one last time. Thanks for all you've done for us Dad - you will always be with us. We love you (debs)


Comments
Vessel Name: Fille de Joie
Vessel Make/Model: 41' catamaran
Hailing Port: Dinner Cay Marina, Miami, FL
Crew: Isabel Harley, Deb, Tom, Liz & Clavo
About: A family of 5, we're crazy Coloradans with a Maryland and NW twist. Two couples, madly in love with unique, similar situations. Partners, family, lovers who brought in a beautiful cat to help sail this cat from Miami to the Virgin Islands.
Extra: Mother, daughter, Step Father, yahoo son in law and the CATS... Isabel Harley and the Fille de Joie. To complete the set, Jacque Wallace, the bangarang sister, will be here for a week, though we wish she was a permanent crew member.

4 crazy humans + 2 incredible cats = awesome

Who: Isabel Harley, Deb, Tom, Liz & Clavo
Port: Dinner Cay Marina, Miami, FL